Skip navigation

Pulaski County Collector’s Bond, 1906

Manuscript Collection 2146

Special Collections Department
University of Arkansas Libraries

365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701-4002
Phone: (479) 575-8443

Machine-readable finding aid encoded in EAD by Katrina Windon, 2016.

Materials are in English.

Table of Contents

Descriptive Summary

Kavanaugh, C. C. (Charles Coburn), 1874-1938
Pulaski County Collector’s Bond
Inclusive Dates
MC 2146
0.01 linear feet
Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries

Access Information

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

No Use Restrictions Apply.

No Interlibrary Loan.

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Acquisition Information

The Pulaski County Collector’s Bond was donated to the Special Collections Department by Richard Coleman of North Little Rock, Arkansas, on April 10, 2012.

Processing Information

Processed by Katrina Windon; completed in November 2016.

Preferred Form of Citation

Pulaski County Collector’s Bond (MC 2146), Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

See Special Collections Citation Guide for more detailed information on how to cite specific documents from the collection.

Biographical Note

Charles Coburn (C. C.) Kavanaugh was born in 1874 to Hubbard and Anna Kavanaugh. He was elected County Sheriff of Pulaski County, Arkansas, in 1904, and was re-elected to the position in 1906. As County Sheriff, Kavanaugh served as the ex-officio tax collector for Pulaski County, among his other law enforcement and administrative duties. In 1910, Kavanaugh ran for Arkansas governor, but was defeated in the Democratic primary by George W. Donaghey. He also served as Postmaster in Little Rock, from 1933-1938. Kavanaugh passed away March 4, 1938, and is buried in the Oakland-Fraternal Cemetery in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Scope and Content Note

The collection consists of a November 1906 collector’s bond in the amount of $550,000 for Pulaski County Sheriff C.C. Kavanaugh, as well as accompanying sureties affidavits for 20 co-signers, who include notable Arkansans William M. Kavanaugh, J. H. Carmichael, F.B.T. Hollenberg, and James P. Clarke.

Arrangement of the Papers

The collection consists of materials in a single folder in a box shared with other small collections.

Detailed Description of the Collection

The following contains a detailed list of the materials in the collection

Box 1

Box 1 Folder 3

Pulaski County Collector’s Bond, 1906