6 boxes
3 subseries
Office file code: 77; 78

Correspondence, memoranda, telegrams, newspaper clippings and related material pertaining to Arkansas politics.


Arranged chronologically and alphabetically.

  1. Arkansas Political Affairs (General), 1946-1974
  2. State and County Democratic Party Organizations, 1945-1974
  3. Arkansas Politicians, 1945-1962

Subseries 1. Arkansas Political Affairs (General), 1946-1974.

1.5 boxes.
Office file code: 77, 78

Records primarily pertain to JWF non-campaign year interactions with Arkansas political affairs, especially service to constituents and contacts with politicians, legislators and state officials. Some records pertain to news items relating to Arkansas political and legislative scene.

Subseries 2. State and County Democratic Party Organizations, 1945-1974.

1.5 boxes.
Office file code: 77, 78

Records primarily pertain to Arkansas state Democratic party organization, particularly resolutions, rules and lists of party candidates, officials and delegates to National Democratic Conventions; role of JWF as state Democratic party member; and functions of auxiliary party organizations, particularly county Democratic committees and Young Democrats Club of Arkansas.

Correspondents include: Samuel G. Boyce (2.6), Edwin E. Dunaway (3.4), John Norvill Jones (1.5), John Fitzgerald Kennedy (2.6), James McDougal (3.1), Charles D. Matthews (3.4), Pat Mehaffy (2.6), Wilton Robert Stephens (3.4), William Stuart Symington (3.3).

Subseries 3. Arkansas Politicians, 1945-1962.

3 boxes.
Office file code: 78

Records pertain primarily to correspondence collected by JWF's office staff relating to various Arkansas political figures.

Return to list of Series in the second accession.
Return to Special Collections Home Page.
Return to Library Home Page.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Text/SMS: 479-385-0803
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656