University of Arkansas Graduate School Records

MC 2009.UA

Special Collections
University of Arkansas Libraries

365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701-4002
Phone: 479-575-8444

Machine-readable finding aid encoded in EAD by Keisha Stevenson, 2019.

Finding aid is written in English.

Table of Contents

Descriptive Summary

University of Arkansas Graduate School
University of Arkansas Graduate School Records
Inclusive Dates
MC 2009.UA
0.5 Linear feet (1 box)
Materials are in English.
Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries

Access Information

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

No Use Restrictions Apply.

No Interlibrary Loan.

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17)."

Acquisition Information

The University of Arkansas Graduate School Records were donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries in 2014 through the Universityof Arkansas Graduate School.

Processing Information

Amy Allen and Keisha Stevenson; completed in January 2019.

Preferred Form of Citation

University of Arkansas Graduate School Records (MC 2009.UA ), Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

See Special Collections Citation Guide for more detailed information on how to cite specific documents from the collection.

Historical Note

Graduate work was completed by students early in the University’s history under the direction of individual departments. The first dean of the Graduate School, John Clark Jordan, was appointed in 1927 with 23 students enrolled in the school. Virgil W. Adkisson became dean in 1949. By the 1950-1951 academic year, doctoral programs were officially being offered. In 1969, Robert E. McDermott was appointed as dean and by 1971 the graduate school had grown in 1659 students. James J. Hudson served as dean from 1973-1987. James H. White served as Acting Dean from 1988-1989. Lester C. Howick served as Interim Dean from 1991-1991. Collis R. Geren was appointed Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of the Graduate School in 1991 and retired in 2010. Todd G. Shields served as Interim Dean in 2010 and then was appointed Dean of the Graduate School and International Education in 2011. In 2014, Kim LaScola Needy was the first female to be appointed dean of the school. By 2014, the school had grown to include 3,909 students.

Scope and Content Note

The collection contain reports, correspondence, proposals, and event materials.

Arrangement of the Papers

The collection is arranged with the proposals for degrees first, followed by North Central Association materials, and the remainder of the materials arranged in chronological order.

Detailed Description of the Collection

The following contains a detailed list of the materials in the collection

box 1

box 1 folder 1

Proposals for Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Industrial Management , May 17,1972

box 1 folder 2

Proposal for a Master of Science Degree in Communicative Disorders, 1973

box 1 folder 3

North Central Association Correspondence and Reports , 1966-1970

box 1 folder 4

North Central Association Institutional Self Study Materials, 1966-1970

box 1 folder 5

Report of a Visit of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, October 13-15,1986

box 1 folder 6

Instituational Self Study Prepared for North Central Association, February 1997

box 1 folder 7

Developmental Council Founding Members Program , February 15-16, 1970

box 1 folder 8

Univeristy of Arkansas Role and Scope Study , April 15, 1972

box 1 folder 9

Private financial support booklet, July 1976

box 1 folder 10

The Center for Research Libraries Council Annual Council Meeting, April 6-7, 1987

box 1 folder 11

The Center for Research Libraries Council Annual Council Meeting , April 14-15, 1988


University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Text/SMS: 479-385-0803
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656