University of Arkansas home page Special Collections
  bullet Library Home  Special Collections Home  Manuscripts Home

Florence Beatrice Smith Price (1887-1953)

Correspondence, musical scores, and other papers, 1906-1975
Manuscript Collection 988

Information about Florence Beatrice Smith Price

Florence Beatrice Smith Price (1887-1953) was born April 9, 1887 in Little Rock, Arkansas. She studied composition and organ at the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston and afterwards taught in the music departments at Shorter College in Arkansas (1906-1910), and Clark University in Georgia (1910-1912). Among her most famous compositions is the Symphony in E Minor which won the Wanamaker Prize in 1931. Price died on June 3, 1953 of a stroke in Chicago, Illinois. For further information see Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (7th ed) p. 1816, and Who's Who in Colored America (5th ed) p. 423.

Information about the Collection

Florence Price Robinson, daughter of Florence Price, donated her mother's papers to Special Collections in 1974. The papers were collected by researchers Mary Dengler Hudgins and Barbara Garvey Jackson in 1974-1975 and made available to the public at that time. In October, 1989 the Price papers were reprocessed by Norma Ortiz-Karp, and instrumental parts of the Symphony in E Minor, prepared by the North Arkansas Symphony Orchestra, were incorporated into the collection.

 The papers consist of correspondence of Price and of her daughter, Florence Price Robinson, diary fragments, programs, and photographs. In addition there are the research files of Mary Dengler Hudgins on Price. The papers also include musical scores. These are arranged according to keyboard, voice, string, and symphonic works.

Processed by Norma Ortiz-Karp, October 1989. Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville, Arkansas.

RESTRICTIONS APPLY. Copying of Florence Price material may be made for research and single use only. No material may be published or performed without permission of the copyright holder. For information contact:

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
1 Lincoln Plaza
New York, New York 10023
(212) 595-3050

Contents of the Collection (5 boxes)

Index to music in the collection.

Series 1. Correspondence, Diary Fragments, Programs, Other Papers, and Photographs. Box 1

Series 2. Musical Scores. Boxes 2-5

Subseries 1. Keyboard
Subseries 2. Voice
Subseries 3. Strings
Subseries 4. Orchestral Scores, Instrumental Parts, and Band Arrangement


The numbers given refer to box number-folder number-item number (item number when applicable).
Return to "Contents of Collection."
Return to Special Collections Home Page.
Return to University of Arkansas Libraries Home Page