Arkansas Civil War Imprints

From the Introduction to the Second Edition

An important addition to this guide is the inclusion of a comprehensive bibliography of 133 Arkansas Civil War imprints held in Special Collections at the University of Arkansas Libraries. The checklist includes any original samples of published material created in Arkansas from 1861 to 1865 excluding newspapers.

The same criteria for indexing applied to the manuscript collections have been used for the abstracts of each entry, and, when available, the checklist number assigned by Albert H. Allen in Arkansas Imprints has been added to the end of each entry. An additional number following the designation "CI" in the abstract indicates that the piece has been described by T. Michael Parrish and Robert M. Willingham, Jr. in Confederate Imprints (Austin: Jenkins Publishing Company, 1978).

1861

253. Arkansas. Constitutional Convention. 1861. Journal of both sessions of the convention of the State of Arkansas, which were begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock. Published by authority. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 509 pages., 1 leaf. 22.5 cm. Also bound in the same volume, Ordinances of the State Convention, 128 pages. (see entry #4). This volume is the complete record of both secession conventions held in the spring of 1861. Pages 3-11 contain the records of the March session. Pages 113-474 contain the records of the session of May-June. The appendix, pages 477-509, contains copies of correspondence between Governor Henry M. Rector and Captain James Totten, commander of the Little Rock Arsenal, along with extracts from conventions in South Carolina and Georgia. Allen #406. CI #2708. E 440.5.A76 1861 254. Arkansas. Constitutional Convention. 1861. Journal of the convention of the state of Arkansas, which was begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the fourth day of March, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one. Published by authority. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 144 p., 23.5 cm. Published also in the "Journal of both sessions," entry #1. Appendix on pages 113-144 is the same as that in entry #1, pages 477-509. This was the first secession convention journal, ordered to be printed in an edition of 5,000 copies, prior to the call of the second convention in May, 1861. Allen #407, CI #2707. E 440.5.A75 1861

255. Arkansas. Constitutional Convention. 1861. Ordinances of the State Convention, which convened in Little Rock, May 6, 1861. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 128 p., 21.5 cm. Bound with "Journal of both sessions," as described in entry #1. A listing of rules, resolutions, and laws passed by the constitutional convention, along with the text of the adopted constitution. Allen #409, CI #2710. A 342.7672 Ar41j 1861.

256. Arkansas. Constitutional Convention. 1861. To the People of Arkansas; 1861. Note: Broadside, 25.5 cm. x 19.3 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. A declaration and list of names from the Arkansas Secession Convention supporting Southern action in the Civil War. Not in Allen or CI. B4-284.

257. Arkansas. General Assembly. House of Representatives. Journal of the House of Representatives for the thirteenth session of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, which was begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the fifth day of November, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty, and ended on Monday the twenty-first day of January, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one. Little Rock: Johnson and Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 971 p., folded tables, 23 cm. Contains governor's messages and reports from State Bank accountants. Allen #411. A 342.7672 Ar41j 1861

258. Arkansas. General Assembly. Senate. Journal of the Senate, A 342.7674 Ar41j 1861 Allen #419, CI #2712. KFA 3625 1861KFA 3625 1861 for the thirteenth session of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, which was begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the fifth day of November, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty, and ended on Monday the twenty-first day of January, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one. Published by authority. Little Rock: Johnson and Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 951 p., folded tables, 23 cm. Title page missing. Contains reports from the governor, officers of the Little Rock and Fort Smith Railroad Company, and accountants of the State Bank. Allen #412. A 342.7672 Ar41j 1861.

259. Arkansas. Governor (Henry M. Rector). Message of Gov. Henry M. Rector to the General Assembly of Arkansas, in extra session, Nov. 6, 1861. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 32 p., 22.5 cm. A comprehensive discussion of Arkansas and Confederate affairs. Appendices following page 24 include reports from the state Auditor, penitentiary inspector, and penitentiary physician. Allen #415, CI #2715. J 87.A82 1861.

260. Arkansas. Laws, statutes, etc. Acts passed at the thirteenth or special session of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, which was begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the fourth day of November, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one, and ended on Monday, the eighteenth day of november, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one. Published by authority. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: viii, 92 p., 20.5 cm. Allen #419, CI #2712. KFA 3625 1861

261. Arkansas. Laws, statutes, etc. Acts passed at the thirteenth session of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, which was begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the fifth day of November, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty, and ended on Monday the twenty-first day of January, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-one. Published by authority. Little Rock: Johnson and Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: xiv p., 1 leaf, 472 p., 21 cm. Allen #418. KFA 3625 1860-61

262. Arkansas. Laws, statutes, etc. Convention act, passed by both houses of the General Assembly on the 14th day of January, 1861. [Little Rock]; 1861. Note: Broadside, 35 cm. x 23 cm., printed two columns on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Decorative border surrounding type. Text of the official act calling for the constitutional (secession) convention of March, 1861. Allen #420. A 353.9767 Ar4p 1859-1860.

263. Arkansas. Military Board. Rules and articles for the government of the army of Arkansas. Office of the Military Board, Little Rock, June, 1861. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: 39 p., 23 cm. Half title: Articles of war of Arkansas and the Confederate States. Henry M. Rector is identified as "President Military Board." Allen #421, CI #2722. A 355.09767 Ar44.

264. Arkansas. Quartermaster General. Circular to the Committies Heretofore Appointed by the Military Board to Purchase Clothing for Arkansas Volunteers. [Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers]; 1861. Note: Broadside, 23.5 cm. x 15.3 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. "Committees" misspelled as "Committies.". Regulations governing the purchase and distribution of clothing for Confederate soldiers. Allen #422, CI #2723. B4-172.

265. Arkansas. Supreme Court. Reports of cases at law and in equity, Argued and determined in the Supreme Court of Arkansas. At the October term, 1860, and January term, 1861. L.E. Barber, reporter. Volume XXII. Little Rock: Johnson & Yerkes, State Printers; 1861. Note: vii, 638 p., 23 cm., reprint by the E.W. Stephens Publishing Company, Columbia, Missouri, date unknown. (Three copies, two in UA Law Library. The Allen checklist does not distinguish between reprints and originals for this item. All three UA holdings appear to be reprints.) Allen #423. KFA 3645.A24 V,21 1860

266. Baler, L.C. Telegraphic. Little Rock: True Democrat; July 13, 1861. Note: Broadside, 23.5 cm. x 15.3 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Brief synopsis of Civil War news, July 13, 1861. B4-574.

267. Complimentary Ball. You are respectfully invited to attend a complimentary ball, to be given to Hon. Robert W. Johnson, on Monday night, April 22, 1861, at Sutton & Spring's new building. [Fort Smith]; 1861. Note: Broadside, 7" x 4 5/8", text printed inside of an elaborate embossed border. "Secession Ball" invitation sent to Judge Jesse Turner, Van Buren, Arkansas. Envelope with invitation bears a written comment by Turner in addition to his address. Allen #427. MS F77, Fort Smith Collection.

268. Freemasons. Arkansas. Grand Chapter. Proceedings of the M.E: Gr. Chapter R.A. Masons, of the State of Arkansas; held in the city of Little Rock, October 31, A.D. 1861; A.I. 2395. Little Rock: R.S. Yerkes & Co., Printers; 1861. Note: 30 p., 21.5 cm. Minutes of proceedings from the conference, membership list for some Arkansas lodges, and a copy of the 1852 constitution of the organization. Allen #429, CI #8591. HS717.A8R6.

269. Thomason, H.F. Gen. Thomason's Letter; 1861. Note: Broadside, 40.3 cm. x 30 cm., printed two columns on one side of a sheet of newsprint. General H.F. Thomason's letter to a group of friends who offered his name to become a candidate to represent the people of Crawford County at the State Convention, Little Rock, Arkansas. Not in Allen or CI. B3-247.

270. [Pike, Albert]. Draught of a declaration of independence, proposed to the convention of the State of Arkansas, and withdrawn from its consideration. Little Rock: R.S. Yerkes & Co., printers.; 1861. Note: 13 p., 24 cm., facsimile reprint/ from Lester Hargrett, Washington, D.C., 1943. Pencil notation inside front cover states it to be one of 25. Declaration, loosely modeled on Jefferson's 1776 draft, establishing the state of Arkansas to be a free and independent state. Allen #432, CI #5724. KFZ 35.A5 1861a

271. Pike, Albert. State or province? Bond or free? "The vital principle of equality, which cements the union of the states." Madison. Addressed particularly to the people of Arkansas. [Little Rock]; 1861. Note: 40 p., 23 cm. Treatise on the principle of secession. Allen #433. E 440.5.P63 1861

272. Williams, D.C. To the People of Arkansas. [Van Buren]; 1861. Note: Broadside, 48.5 cm. x 32.5 cm., negative photographic print, four columns. Appeal urging people to vote in the election of February 18, 1861, called to decide whether a convention of secession should be held on March 2, 1861. Not in Allen or CI. B3-486.

1862

273. Order of Proceedings. [Fort Smith]; . Note: Broadside, 24 cm x 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of newsprint. Orders from Major Clarke concerning funeral arrangments for an unknown soldier. B6-835.

274. Pike, Albert. Albert Pike's letter addressed to Maj. Gen. Holmes. [Little Rock; ]. Note: Broadside, 49.5 cm. x 33 cm., printed five columns on one side of a sheet of wallpaper. Pike's accusations concerning Major General Theophilus Holmes's mistreatment of the Cherokees and other tribes allied with the Confederacy. Allen #448, CI #5723. B6

275. Pike, Albert. Albert Pike's letter addressed to Maj. Gen. Holmes. [Little Rock; J. D. Butler, print., ]. Note: 8p. : 23 cm. Text in two columns. Caption title; imprint at foot of second column on final page. Pike's accusations concerning Major General Theophilus Holmes's mistreatment of the Cherokees and other tribes allied with the Confederacy. Allen #447. F697.P54 .

276. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 13. Forsyth; April 15, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. Embossment in the bottom left corner. General Orders No. 13, concerning Major E.W. Weston, Twenty- Fourth Missouri Infantry, acting as Provost Marshal General, the use of fire arms, the taking of forage and substance supplies, the negligence of officers for the actions of their men, and the enforcement of all these provisions by the Provost Marshal General. By orders of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-758.

277. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 15. West Plains; April 28, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 15, concerning the enforcement of the 19th Article of war. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-759.

278. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 16. Salem; May 1, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 16, concerning the unlawful trading and selling of military horses, the commanding officers' opportunity for promotion, and the announcement of these promotions to absent officers. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-760.

279. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 17. Batesville; May 13, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Officially signed by H.Z. Samuel R. Curtis, Assistant Adjutant General. General Orders No. 17, concerning the address of all communications to the Assistant Adj. General, the relief from duty of Major E. Kielmansegge of the Fourth Missouri Cavalry, the duties and titles of all Provost Marshals, and the restriction of commands made by officers to their own post or division. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-761.

280. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 18. Batesville; May 14, . Note: 2p., 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed only on pages one and three. Pages glued together, left hand margin. Marginalia on verso. General Orders No. 18, concerning the trial of Thomas Clark and William Harding, teamsters, Army of the South West. Both were charged with violation of the laws of war at the military convention convened at West Plains, Missouri. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-762.

281. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 19. Batesville; May 15, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 19, concerning John Guylee, Company "A", First Iowa Cavalry, and his appointment as Aid-de-Camp. Also included is a statement concerning the restriction of trains from the North to the soldiers, and Special Orders No. 146 concerning the assignment of Brigadier General E.B. Brown to the command of the District of South East Missouri. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-763.

282. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 20. Batesville; May 21, . Note: Broadside, 19.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 20, concerning the trial of Private John Hawker, First Indiana Battery, for the attempt to commit rape. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-764.

283. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 21. Batesville; May 28, . Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 21, concerning crimes such as destruction of property and the burning of mills and cotton and the harsh penalty of the death for such crimes. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-765.

284. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 23. Batesville; May 31, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 23, announcing the victory at Corinth, and the details concerning the victory. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-766.

285. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Order No. 24. Batesville; June 14, . Note: 2 p., 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on both sides of both sheets. Officially signed by H.Z. Samuel R. Curtis, Assistant Adjutant General. General Orders No. 24, concerning the trials of James Smith and Lewis G. Thomas, citizens, on the charges of violation of the laws of war. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-767.

286. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Order No. 25. Batesville; June 21, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 25, concerning the trial of D.L. Smith, a citizen of White County, for two charges: violation of the laws of war and violation of the oath of allegiance. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-768.

287. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 28. Jacksonport; June 28, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 28, concerning Lieutenant Col J. F. Cramer of the Seventeenth Missouri Infantry and his successful conduct in an enemy skirmish, the escort of forage expeditions, and the severe penalty of death for the destruction of private property. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-769.

288. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 42. Helena; August 27, . Note: Broadside, 9 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 42, concerning negroes and their positions held, wages earned, and punishments for violations. By order of Major General Samuel R. Curtis. Allen #App. A-1. B6-770.

289. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 47. Helena; September 10, . Note: Broadside, 17 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 47, concerning forage trains and their escort by soldiers from the post of Helena. By order of Brigadier General Steele. Allen #App. A-1. B6-771.

290. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 51. Helena; October 12, . Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 12 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 51, concerning negroes and their required certificates of employment. All negroes found with out such certificates are sent to Captain Richmond so that they may receive work. By order of Brigadier General Carr. Allen #App. A-1. B6-772.

291. United States. Army. Army of the South West. General Orders No. 52. Helena; October 24, . Note: Broadside, 17 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Burnt in the upper right corner. General Orders No. 52, prohibiting the theft of property of citizens. By order of Brigadier General Hovey. Allen #App. A- 1. B6-773.

292. United States. Army. Army of the South West. [Letter dated Headquarters, Army of the South West, Camp at Helena, Ar., Nov. 2nd, to the Governor of Wisconsin, signed: Alvin P. Hovey, Brig. Gen. Commanding. Army of the South West.]. Helena; . Note: 4 p., 18 cm., printing only on first page, rule-lined stock. Form letter demanding the return to Helena of Union soldiers on leave in Wisconsin. Allen #App. A-2. MC 772.

293. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. Circular. Helena; December 16, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, two hole punched. Marginalia on front. Circular from the General Commanding, who has observed a carelessness in the manner of performing guard duty in the Command. By order of Brigadier General Gorman. Allen #App. A- 3. B6-807.

294. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 3. Helena; November 11, . Note: Broadside, 17.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of news print. General Orders No. 3, stating that all property taken from the enemy belongs to the United States, and prohibiting the buying, selling, and trading of all horses and mules unless authorized. By Command of Brigadier General Alvin P. Hovey. Allen #App. A- 5. B6-800.

295. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 4. Helena; November 11, . Note: Broadside, 17.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of newsprint, three hole punched. Marginalia on front. General Orders No. 4, stating that the army encamped at or about Helena will hereafter be styled "the Army of the District of Eastern Arkansas." By Command of Brigadier General Alvin P. Hovey. Allen #App. A-5. B6-801.

296. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 6. Helena; November 23, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, three hole punched. General Orders No. 6, stating that official communications for the said Head Quarters will be addressed to Lieutenant W.D. Green, Acting Assistant Adjutant General. By command of Brigadier General Steele. Allen #App. A-5. B6-802.

297. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 8. Helena; December 2, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, three hole punched. General Orders No. 8, stating that all foraging hereafter be done by brigades or foraging expeditions. By order of Brigadier General Steele. Allen #App. A-5. B6-803.

298. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 9. Helena; December 10, . Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 9, in which Brigadier General W.A. Gorman assumes command of the District of Eastern Arkansas and announces his staff officers. By command of Brigadier General W.A. Gorman. Allen #App. A-5. B6-804.

299. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 11. Helena; December 12, . Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 11, organizing the troops in the said District into Brigades and Divisions, with Command also assignments. By command of Brigadier General W.A. Gorman. Allen #App. A-5. B6-805.

300. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 12. Helena; December 12, . Note: 2 p., 18.5 cm., printed on two sheets of bond stock glued together at the left hand margin. General Orders No. 12, regulations for the organization of an Ambulance Corps, for this army, and the management of ambulance trains, published for all who are concerned. By command of Brigadier General W.A. Gorman. Allen #App. A-5. B6-806

301. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 60. Helena; November 7, . Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Marginal correction in ink. General Orders No. 60, stating that no persons, except all soldiers with proper permits from division and brigade head quarters, can pass in and out of lines unless their permits are signed by the Provost Marshal General or by express authority of the General Commanding. By order of Brigadier General Alvin P. Hovey. Allen #App. A-4. B6-798. 302 United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 61. Helena; November 7, . Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of news print. General Orders No. 61, stating that commanders of regiments, batteries and detachments will immediately cause requisitions to be made for such ordnance as is needed for their respective commands. By command of Brigadier General Alvin P. Hovey. Allen #App. A-4. B6-799.

303. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. Police Regulations for the Army of the District of Eastern Arkansas. Helena; December 4, . Note: Broadside, 24.8 cm. x 19.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of laid finish onion skin stock. "Army" misspelled in title as "Amry". Police regulations for Union Army troops stationed in Helena, Arkansas. Allen #App. A-6. B4-173.

1863

304. Crockett, Robert H. Normandy Hall, or Lost and Won. [New London; 1863]. Note: 8 p., 17.5 cm., printed on black bordered stock, similar to paper used for funeral announcements. A two-act play, "written and performed in the same night," by Confederate officer Crockett. Not in Allen or CI. PS2673.R111 N67 1863.

305. Davenport, William P. Davenport's Trans-Mississippi Almanac for the year 1863, the Third Year of Independence of the Confederate States of America. Arkadelphia: William P. Davenport; 1863. Note: 8 p., 21.5 cm., partial copy; only the first signature of two. Almanac, bearing dates commemorating events which occurred during the first two years of the war. Not in Allen or CI. AY381.D38 1863.

306. Gantt, Edward W. Address of Hon. E.W. Gantt to the people of Arkansas. 1863. Little Rock: National Democrat Print; 1863. Note: 24 p., 21 cm. Address by former Confederate soldier Edward Gantt advising the people of Arkansas to abandon the struggle for independence. Allen #453. G 453.G36 1863.

307. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 22. Helena; April 2, 1863. Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12 cm. (irregular), printed on one side of a sheet of newsprint. General Orders No. 23, concerning Major General C.C. Washburne, U.S. Volunteers, and his assignment to the command of the United States Forces near Helena. By order of Major General Prentiss. Allen #App. A-9. B4-743.

308. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 25. Helena; April 8, 1863. Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 12 cm. (irregular), printed on one side of a sheet of newsprint. General Orders No. 25, concerning the regimental and detachment commanders and their duty to report to Col. W.F. Wood, commanding First Regiment Arkansas Volunteers of African Descent, all able bodied male contraband. By order of Major General Prentiss. Allen #App. A-9. B4-744.

309. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 13. Pine Bluff; December 13, 1863. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched. General Order No. 13, prohibiting the employment of negro women for company cooks. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-10. B6-774.

1864

310. Arkansas. General Assembly. Rules for the Government of the House of Representatives; also, the Standing Committees in the House for the Session of 1864. Little Rock; 1864. Note: 32 p., 15 cm. Rule book for the newly organized Arkansas House of Representative under the Union Government, and a copy of the 1863 Unionist constitution, complete with the first seven ordinances of the 1863 constitutional convention. Not in Allen. MC 634, Box 2, Folder 22.

311. Knighton, Barney. The friends and acquaintances of DAVID O. DODD are invited to attend his funeral this Evening at 3 o'clock, from the residence of Mr. Barney Knighton, on Rock Street. Divine service by the Rev. Dr. Colburn. Saturday Morning, Jan. 9, 1864. Little Rock; 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.8 cm. x 12.5 cm., black border printed on all four sides. Funeral announcement. Not in Allen. MC ****, Box 2, Folder 15.

312. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Circular. Little Rock; 1864. Note: Broadside, 24 cm. x 19.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue lined bond stock. Arithmetical marginalia on verso. Circular describing regulations regarding ordnance and ordnance stores for the Union Army in Arkansas. Allen #App. A-11. B4-175.

313. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Superintendent of Volunteer Recruiting Service. Circular. To The Recruiting Officers Detailed for the State of Arkansas. Little Rock; 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. x 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of laid finish bond stock. Circular describing payments and premiums for recruits Union Army recruits signed by James A. Swain. Allen #App. A-20. B4-174.

314. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. General Orders, No. 23. Little Rock; May 9, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General orders, No. 23, giving thanks to the Troops of the Seventh Army Corps, for participation in the campaign designed to cooperate with General Banks' movement against Shreveport from Major General Commanding Frederick Steele. Allen #App. A- 12. B6-810.

315. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. General Orders, No. 39. Little Rock: June 13, 1864. Note: Folder, 19 x 25; folded to 19 x 12.5 cm., printed on two sides of a sheet of bond stock. Black 2 point border surrounds text on all four sides. Full text of General Orders No. 39, primarily an obituary of Colonel F.H. Manter, Chief of Staff for Major General Frederick Steele. Allen #App. A-12. B6-972.

316. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. Circular. Helena; July 8, 1864. Note: Broadside, 19.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched. Marginalia on front. Circular detailing what will be done to meet the emergency of a fire in the city of Helena. By order of Brigadier General Gorman. Allen #App. A-21. B6-808.

317. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Order, No. 7. Helena; Jan 30, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of blue-lined ruled stock, two holed punched. General Order No. 7, concerning the disorderly conduct of soldiers, and others, in Helena, and the adoption of rules and regulations to prevent further disorder. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-745.

318. United States. Army. District of North Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 2. Batesville; Jan. 6, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled stock, two hole punched. General Orders No. 2, concerning depredations by troops, the prohibition of waste or outrage upon the property or persons of citizens, and the patrol of the city during all times for the purpose of arresting those troops absent from their quarters. By order of R.R. Livingston, Colonel First Regiment, Nebraska Cavalry. Allen #App. A-29. B6-792.

319. United States. Army. District of North Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 9. Batesville; Jan. 11, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 13.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of blue-line ruled stock, embossed in the upper right corner. General Orders No. 9, reprinting regulations concerning spies and guerrillas, based on the Laws of War, for the information of the inhabitants of the District, and for the guidance of the troops of the command. By order of R. R. Livingston, Colonel First Regiment, Nebraska Cavalry. Allen #App. A-29. B6-793.

320. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 1. Pine Bluff; February 1, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Order No. 1, requiring all officers and soldiers to wear their appropriate uniforms at all times, and prohibiting the sale of clothing, horse equipment, and horses other than those horses condemned by the proper inspecting officer to citizens. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-775.

321. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 2. Pine Bluff; February 1, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Order No. 2, prohibiting all citizens from purchasing from any soldier, clothing, horse equipments, or horses except those condemned by the proper inspecting officer, and prohibiting all citizens from wearing army clothing. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-776.

322. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 3. Pine Bluff; February 3, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, four hole punched. General Order No. 3, announcing weekly inspections of the command, and the dismissal from service of those who do not comply. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-777.

323. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Order, No. 8. Helena; Feb 12, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of blue-lined ruled stock. Marginalia on verso. General Order No. 8, concerning the transfer of property, real estate, or chattels between white and colored people, and that it shall be executed thereafter before the Superintendent of Freedmen. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-746.

324. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Order, No. 15. Helena; March 5, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Order No. 15, concerning the frequent violation of existing orders and regulations, and the need for attention to this concern from all commanders. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-747.

325. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 19. Helena; March 25, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched. Embossed eagle in upper left corner. General Order No. 19, concerning the violations and penalties resulting from the attempt of Mary Elizabeth Lane, with the aid of Sallie Alexander, J.T. Moore, and John W. Seaver to smuggle cavalry boots, spurs, and other articles out of the lines at Helena. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-748.

326. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 30. Helena; May 4, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on both sides of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched. Embossed eagle in the upper right hand corner. General Orders No. 30, concerning Mrs. E.B. Higgins and her removal from the Federal lines in the state of Arkansas after her confession to aiding the enemy in a letter to Confederate General Higgins. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-749.

327. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 33. Helena; May 17, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, five hole punched. Embossed eagle in the upper left hand corner. Two signatures on front and marginalia on verso. General Orders No. 33, concerning the prohibition of crossing lines to cut wood, the use of only the Little Rock and Sterling Roads for fatigue parties crossing the lines, the allowance of Freedmen wood cutters to cut from the Freedmen's wood yard, and the sale of wood to citizens by the Quartermaster during times the lines are closed. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-750

328. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 38. Helena; June 25, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Orders No. 38, concerning the removal of all trade stores at the mouth of the White River, and that no goods be sold by them in the District of Eastern Arkansas or Mississippi. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-751.

329. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 40. Helena; July 3, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet bond stock, two hole punched. General Orders No. 40, concerning the commemoration of the 88th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence by the firing of 35 guns by Colonel J.G. Hudson. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-752.

330. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 46. Helena; July 21, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 13 cm., printed on one side of a sheet bond stock. General Orders No. 46, an extract of Special Orders no. 164, from the headquarters of the Department of Arkansas at Little Rock, concerning the dishonorable dismissal of Captain David Slinger, Company "E", Thirteenth Illinois Cavalry, for neglect of duty while in command of a picket post, by order of Major General F. Steele. General Order by order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-753.

331. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 48. Helena; August 4, 1864. Note: 4 p., 12.5 cm. General Orders No. 48, concerning details of the court martial hearings of David Van Vector, Company "C", Thirty-Fifth Missouri Infantry; Lewis Cox, Company "C", Fifteenth Illinois Cavalry; Dennis Murphy, Company "A", Sixth Minnesota Infantry; and James F. Brown, First Mississippi Mounted Rifles, arraigned and tried at the Head Quarters in Helena, Colonel William Crooks, Sixth Minnesota Infantry, presiding. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-754.

332. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 55. Helena; August 22, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Orders No. 55, concerning nine officers composing the staff of the Colonel commanding. By order of Colonel Wm. Crooks. Allen #App. A-22. B4-755

333. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 73. Helena; November 1, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched, and signed by T.C. Meatyard. General Orders No. 73, concerning Lieutenant Henry C. Murdock, Adjutant Thirty-Fifth Missouri Infantry, and his designation as Permit Officer for the district. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-756.

334. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. Office of Assistant Commissary of Musters. Circular. Helena; Oct. 12, 1864. Note: Broadside, 19.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. Circular mustering men in volunteer organizations who have not already been mustered. Allen #App. A-24. B6-809.

335. United States. Army. District of North Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 7. Batesville; Feb. 27, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 13 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Orders No. 9, re-publishing instructions for forage parties for the guidance of the officers of the command. By order of R. R. Livingston, Colonel First Regiment, Nebraska Cavalry. Allen #App. A-29. B6-794.

336. United States. Army. District of North Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 24. Batesville; March 6, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 13 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Orders No. 24, concerning the citizens of the District of North Eastern Arkansas who refuse to exercise the rights of suffrage at the approaching election, and their resulting unworthiness of protection of the United States forces. By order of R. R. Livingston, Colonel First Regiment, Nebraska Cavalry. Allen #App. A-29. B6-795.

337. United States. Army. District of North Eastern Arkansas. General Orders, No. 31. Batesville; March 27, 1864. Note: Broadside, 20 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Orders No. 31, concerning the need for a true statement under oath of all corn, oats and hay in the possession of citizens. Any false claims shall cause the forfeit of the claim to these goods by any persons. By order of R. R. Livingston, Colonel First Regiment, Nebraska Cavalry. Allen #App. A-29. B6-796.

338. United States. Army. Post of DeVall's Bluff. General Orders, No. 2. DeVall's Bluff; June 15, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, signed by James G. Butten, Post Adjutant. General Orders No. 2, concerning sanitary regulations for both citizens and troops at the said post. Allen #App. A-31. B6-797.

339. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. Circular. Pine Bluff; October 1, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. Marginalia on front. Order to all enlisted men to arm themselves forthwith, by order of Brigadier General Clayton. Allen #App. A-32. B6-791.

340. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 4. Pine Bluff; March 3, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched in each margin. General Order No. 4, stating that all citizens that subscribe to the Allegiance of Oath are to be considered loyal, and all those who do not will be regarded as enemies and will receive no privileges or immunities received by loyal citizens. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-778.

341. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 5. Pine Bluff; March 8, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Order No. 5, stating that all government agents, and all persons carrying a trade licensed under the government, are prohibited form keeping any citizen in their employ who has not subscribed to the Amnesty Oath. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-779.

342. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 6. Pine Bluff; March 12, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock, two hole punched in the right margin. General Order No. 6, prohibiting all soldiers from keeping a sutler's or hucksters stand on the streets or elsewhere, or in any way engaging in the sutler or huckster business. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-780.

343. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 8. Pine Bluff; April 11, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18.5 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Order No. 8, concerning daily observed calls. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-781.

344. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 9. Pine Bluff; May 4, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, two hole punched. General Order No. 9, requiring all soldiers of the command to eat and sleep in their respective camps and quarters, unless special permission is granted. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-782.

345. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 11. Pine Bluff; May 9, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Order No. 11, concerning disposition of troops in case of an attack. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-783.

346. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 14. Pine Bluff; May 9, 1864. Note: Broadside, 17 cm. X 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Order No. 14, annulling all passes, permits, and certificates of employment granted to negroes. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-784.

347. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 15. Pine Bluff; May 21, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 12.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, four hole punched. General Order No. 15, prohibiting negroes to build houses within the city, save on the permit of the Provost Marshal, and requiring them to lived quartered together and to themselves. All houses existing are to be removed and permits to build are given only after proper evidence from the Superintendent of Freedmen states that the parties are able to support themselves. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-785.

348. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 16. Pine Bluff; May 25, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, two hole punched. General Order No. 16, stating that all soldiers outside of the limits of the camp to which they belong between the hours of tattoo and reveille will be arrested, and that all persons found drunk on the streets will be arrested. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-786.

349. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 17. Pine Bluff; May 31, 1864. Note: Broadside, 17 cm. X 10.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of blue-line ruled bond stock. General Order No. 17, restating the fine for saloon keepers stated in General Order, No. 16, from $20 to $5. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-787

350. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 18. Pine Bluff; June 21, 1864. Note: Broadside, 19 cm. X 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, two hole punched. General Order No. 18, announcing the inspection of the said command on the 24th of June, and stating the order in which it will be done. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-788.

351. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 20. Pine Bluff; July 3, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. General Order No. 20, calling attention to General Orders, No. 12, Headquarters Military Division of the Mississippi, requiring all regimental commanders to reside among their commands, and all company officers to reside in the vicinity of their company. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-789.

352. United States. Army. Post of Pine Bluff. General Order, No. 21. Pine Bluff; July 3, 1864. Note: Broadside, 18 cm. X 11.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock, two hole punched. General Order No. 21, ordering a National Salute of thirty-four guns to be fired at mid-day, the reading of the Declaration of Independence at dress parade, and that all fatigue details be dispensed with and all places of business be closed. By order of Colonel Powell Clayton. Allen #App. A-33. B6-790.

1865

353. Arkansas. Laws, statutes, etc. New constitution, with the acts of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, passed at the session begun and held in the capitol, in the city of Little Rock, on Monday, the 11th day of April, 1864, and ended on Thursday, the 2d day of June, 1864; and at adjourned session, commencing Monday, November 7th, 1864, and ending on Tuesday, January 3d, 1865-also, the called session, commencing on Monday, the 3d day of April, 1865, and ending on Saturday, the 22nd day of April, 1865. Published by authority. Little Rock: Unconditional Union Print; 1865. Note: 95 p., 21 cm. Allen #466. A 345.13 Ar4 1864-1865.

354. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 3 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Frederick Didway and Harvey W. Miller, and their transfer to the Seventh Iowa Infantry from the Third Iowa Battery. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-731.

355. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 4 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Assistant Surgeon J.D. Wood, Second Kansas Colored Volunteers and his transfer to Cairo, Illinois. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-732.

356. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 5 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Chaplain William Wilson, Sixth Kansas Cavalry and his relief from duty as Acting Hospital Chaplain at Fort Smith. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-733.

357. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 6 of Special Order No. 12, concerning the relief of enlisted men at the United States General Hospital, at Fort Smith, moved to Little Rock. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-734.

358. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 7 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Assistant Surgeon G.A. Kretchmer, United States Volunteers, and his report to the Surgeon Chief of the First Division, 7th Army Corps. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-735.

359. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 8 of Special Order No. 12, concerning the detail for duty of 11 enlisted men in the Ambulance Corps, and their report to Lieutenant L.P. Cory, Ambulance Officer, First Brigade, First Division, 7th Army Corps. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-736.

360. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 9 of Special Order No. 12, concerning First Lieutenant Charles G. Rumford, First Delaware Battery and his report to Little Rock for temporary duty. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-737.

361. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 10 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Captain J.M. Adams, First Missouri Cavalry, and his assignment to duty with Company "F", of his regiment, after restoration of his command. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-738.

362. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 11 of Special Order No. 12, concerning 10 enlisted men and their detail for duty in the Quartermaster's Department. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-739.

363. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 12 of Special Order No. 12, concerning Captain John A. Williams, Twenty-Eighth Wisconsin Infantry Volunteers, and his detail for special duty in the Provost Marshal's Department. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-740.

364. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 12. Little Rock; Jan. 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 13 of Special Order No. 12, concerning a General Court Marshall appointed to meet at St. Charles for the trial of Captain Philo P. Judson, Commissary of Subsistence, and the detail for the court. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-741

365. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 20. Little Rock; Jan. 21, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 6 of Special Order No. 20, concerning Captain Miles Kehoe, Company "A", First Missouri Cavalry Volunteers, and his dishonorable dismissal from the military for drunkenness and disorderly conduct. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-742.

366. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 20. Little Rock; Jan. 21st, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 15 of Special Orders No. 20, concerning Lieutenant W. Hardin and his appointment to Acting Ordnance Officer of the 2nd Division, 7th Army Corps. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-721.

367. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 23. Little Rock; Jan. 25, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 1 of Special Orders No. 23, concerning fines given to 25 men, mostly from the Sixty Second Illinois Veteran Infantry, for the apparent theft of sutler's stores of the Third Arkansas Cavalry. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-722.

368. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 23. Little Rock; Jan. 25, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 13 of Special Orders No. 23, concerning Sergeant A.J. Fry, Company "I", First Arkansas Infantry Volunteers, and his return to his regiment at Fort Smith after his absence from command without proper authority. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-723.

369. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 25. Little Rock: Jan. 27, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section one of Special Orders No. 25 announcing the assignment of Surgeon S.B. Hunt to the cavalry division of the 7th Army Corps, Brigadier General J.R. West, commanding. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-963.

370. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 25. Little Rock: Jan. 27, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 2 of Special Orders No. 25, announcing the assignment of Surgeon C.E. Swasey to the troops at Fort Smith under the command of Brigadier General Thayer. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-964.

371. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 25. Little Rock; Jan. 27, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 4 of Special Orders No. 25., concerning Captain Josiah Sample, Company "A", Eleventh United States Colored Infantry, and his appointment to Post Provost Marshal at Lewisburg, Arkansas. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-724.

372. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 25. Little Rock: Jan. 27, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 5 of Special Orders No. 25, ordering the department's medical purveyor to issue supplies to the Arkansas Refugee Committee required for the treatment of sick refugee families. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-965.

373. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 26. Little Rock; Jan. 28, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 2 of Special Orders No. 26, concerning Sergeant John Elkins, Company "F," and privates Robert M. Armstrong, Company "G," and Henry H. Nelson, Company "B," Twenty-Ninth Iowa Infantry Volunteers, and their assignment to take Thomas Butler, an employee of the Quartermasters' Department, to receive a medical examination for his claims of insanity. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-725.

374. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 26. Little Rock: January 28, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 12 of Special Orders 26, concerning the honorable discharge of Captain Jessee C. Rhodabeck, company "H", 18th Iowa Infantry, for medical disability. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-967.

375. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 29. Little Rock: February 1, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 1 of Special Orders No. 29, concerning Private John W. Brand, company "F", 45th Iowa Infantry, and his assignment as Acting Hospital Steward. Allen #App. A-37. B6-968.

376. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 29. Little Rock: February 1, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm, printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 2 of Special Orders No. 29, concerning leave granted to Lt. Thomas Stevenson, 5th Kansas Cavalry. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-969.

377. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 29. Little Rock: February 1, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 4 of Special Orders No. 29, ordering Captain C.H. Dyer to report to Brigadier General E.A. Carr, 7th Army Corps. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-970.

378. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 29. Little Rock: February 1, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 x 14.5 cm, printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 5 of Special Orders No. 29, ordering Brigadier General E.A. Carr and his command from the 7th Army Corps to New Orleans. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-971.

379. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders No. 88. Little Rock: April 11, 1865. Note: Broadside, 25 cm. X 19.7 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Signed by John Levering, Assistant Adjutant General. Marginalia on front: "To Commanding Officer Cavly Brig Post LR." Marginalia on verso; "Special Orders No 88." Orders for the 4th Arkansas Cavalry volunteers to report to the Cavalry Brigade of the Post of Little Rock, under Brigadier General Salomon, for duty. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B6-816.

380. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 139. Little Rock; June 13, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 1 of Special Orders No. 139, concerning Surgeon C.B. Strong, Thirty-Sixth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and his relief from special duty at St. Charles. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-726.

381. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 140. Little Rock; June 14, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 1 of Special Orders No. 140, concerning Captain James T. Reynolds, Company "I', Eighteenth Illinois Infantry Volunteers, and his honorable discharge from the service of the United States following his resignation. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-727.

382. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 140. Little Rock; June 14, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 2 of Special Orders No. 140, concerning surplus public horses of the First and Third Missouri Calvary Volunteers and their transfer to the Eleventh Missouri Cavalry Volunteers, under the superintendence of Captain E.W. Tarlton, Special Inspector of Cavalry. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-728.

383. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 153. Little Rock; June 29, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of a sheet of bond stock. Section 8 of Special Orders No. 153, concerning Lieutenant Colonel Horace Fitch; fourteen field, staff, and Company officers; and two hundred and seventy-eight enlisted men of the Thirty-Fifth Missouri Infantry Volunteers and their transfer to Benton Barracks for the purpose of receiving their final pay, having been duly mustered out of the United States service. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-729.

384. United States. Army. Department of Arkansas. Special Orders, No. 153. Little Rock; June 29, 1865. Note: Broadside, 23 cm. X 14 cm., printed on one side of sheet of bond stock. Section 9 of Special Order No. 153, concerning Sergeant William B. Young, Company "G", Eighteenth Iowa Infantry Volunteers, and his honorable discharge on the 22nd of June, 1865, to enable him to accept commissions. By order of Major General J.J. Reynolds. Allen #App. A-37. B4-730.

385. United States. Army. District of Eastern Arkansas. General Orders No. 2. Helena; January 27, 1865. Note: 4 p., 12.5 cm. Sheets cut on left hand margin and glued together along top margin. Signed by T.C. Meatyard. General Orders No. 2, concerning the court martial proceedings against Chaplain James H. Pike, Sixtieth United States Colored Infantry; Lieutenant Francis M. Coulter, Eighty-Seventh Illinois Mounted Infantry; Lieutenant Daniel D. Smock, Sixtieth United States Colored Infantry; Private Clark Rogers, Company "G", Twenty-Third Wisconsin Infantry; Private James Goreman, Battery "E", Second United States Colored Artillery. Lieutenant Colonel E. P. Hill, Twenty-Third Wisconsin Infantry, presiding. By order of Brigadier General N.B. Buford. Allen #App. A-22. B4-757.

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Text/SMS: 479-385-0803
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656