Research Guides: International Education and Cultural Exchange: Home

About this guide

The University of Arkansas Special Collections is home to many collections related to International Education and Cultural Exchange, including records related to the Fulbright Program. In 1946, Arkansas Senator William Fulbright sponsored legislation that created the Fulbright Exchange Program in an effort to foster international understanding between countries through educational exchange, following the upheaval of WWII.

Special Collections holds a variety of collections related to the Fulbright and other exchange programs, including records of organizations responsible for administering such programs, such as the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (CU), and the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), in addition to the personal papers of Senator Fulbright. In addition to these, the holdings also include collections of lesser-known individuals who were involved int he creation and administration of various cultural and educational exchange programs.

Manuscript Collections on International Education and Cultural Exchange

MC 715 NAFSA: Association of International Educators Records
NAFSA advocates for a better world through international education and is the largest association of professionals committed exclusively to advancing international higher education. The collection includes official records including board minutes, publications, correspondence, reports, financial and legal documents.
MC 468: Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Historical Collection (CU)
The historical collection of the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (CU), formerly the Division of Cultural Relations, documents the development of U.S. international educational and cultural exchange activities, including the Fulbright Program. Organized in 1961 within the Department of State, the bureau was responsible for administering the principal provisions of the Fulbright-Hays Act. It functioned as a part of the State Department until 1978 when it merged with the United States Information Agency. The collection consists of papers generated while CU was in the State Department, from 1938 until 1978. The remainder consists of papers produced after CU moved to USIA in 1978.
MC 703: Council for International Exchange of Scholars Records
Established in 1947 by the Conference Board of Associated Research Councils, CIES is a private agency cooperating with the U.S. government in the administration of Fulbright scholar grants by recommending American scholars for university lectureships and postdoctoral research abroad and managing the Fulbright-Hays program for visiting scholars in the United States. This collection includes correspondence, memoranda, reports, minutes, publications, program proposals, and other records documenting the program histories of participating countries from 1947 to 1988.
MC 1881: Foundation for International Exchange of Students Records
The Foundation for International Exchange of Students (FIES) was established at the University of Arkansas to promote educational exchange and intercultural activity. The collection includes the FIES articles of incorporation and other legal and historical documents, board meeting agendas and minutes, correspondence, financial records, mailing and donor lists, records concerning the Foundation's scholarships, newsletters, brochures, and computer discs.
MC 1644: Marie Louise Lavallard Materials
Marie Louise Lavallard (1912-2006) was a pioneer among women in science having earned both a bachelor’s and a master’s degrees in Plant Physiology from Cornell University in 1932 and 1933 respectively. The collection includes correspondence and personal papers; records concerning the John and Louise Lavallard Scholarship; material pertaining to Lavallard’s numerous domestic and overseas travels; newspaper clippings, including articles written by and about Marie Lavallard, and other printed material; photographs and slides; scrapbooks; award plaques; and one VHS video cassette.
MC 870: Alina Hernandez Papers
Alina Fernandez worked for the Cuban Haitian Task Force at Ft. Chaffee during the Cuban refugee influx, which began in April 1980.
MC 2119: Charles Boewe Papers
Charles Boewe served as the director of the United States Educational Foundation in Pakistan for the Fulbright Foundation in 1964-1967 and 1973-1980. Between these times, he served as the director for the United States Commission for Cultural Exchange from 1967-1970, the director for American Studies Research Centre in Hyderabad, India from 1970-1971, and the director for the United States Educational Foundation in India from 1971-1973. The collection contains correspondence, journals, manuscript drafts, newspaper clippings, photographs, photocopies of published materials, passports, and other materials, most of which are related to Boewe's involvement with the Fulbright Program in India and the United States Education Foundation in Pakistan.
MC 2478, Robert B. Ericksen International Education Papers
The collection contains materials relating to two programs that Robert B. Ericksen was involved with during his tenure as an instructor and foreign student adviser at St. Louis University. These include photographs and documents pertaining to the Cross-Cultural Outdoor Project (C.C.O.P), an outdoor awareness and intercultural program that received funding support from NAFSA's Cooperative Projects Committee.
MC 2393, Charles Gliozzo Papers
Correspondence, memoranda, drafts of grant proposals, conference materials, minutes, publications, and other documents primarily related to Charles Gliozzo’s involvement with NAFSA: Association of International Educators, the National Council for International Visitors, and the Council for International Educational Exchange.
MC 1751, Robert M. Sprinkle Collection
Materials include pamphlets, brochures, a multi-volume encyclopedia and other materials pertaining to international study from a variety of organizations. Robert M. Sprinkle was heavily involved in international exchange and education, serving as the executive director of the International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience.

Collections Related to the Fulbright Program

MC 2121: Fulbright at Fifty Records
This collection includes the analyses, agendas, minutes, expense reports, final reports and historical materials related to the “Fulbright at Fifty” anniversary study performed by the Fulbright Program Study Steering Committee.
MC 1527: Fulbright Institute Symposium Records
The Fulbright Institute of International Relations is a center for study, research, and analysis of foreign policy and international affairs within the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. The collection includes audio and video tapes, DVDs, printed programs, posters, pamphlets, and other materials that document the Annual Fulbright Symposia from 1981-2000.
Fulbright Scholar Grantee Directories
The U.S. Fulbright Scholar Grantee Directories list American scholars who received Fulbright awards for teaching and advanced research abroad from 1948 to 2002. The U.S. Fulbright Visiting Scholar Directories list international scholars who received Fulbright awards for teaching and advanced research opportunities in the United States from 1962 to 1994.
J. William Fulbright Papers
MC MS/F956/144/Fulbright
The papers of J. William Fulbright consist of more than 1,400 linear feet of correspondence, speeches, legislative bills, photographs, and other records pertaining to the governmental, political, and diplomatic issues with which he was concerned. The papers document his thirty-two-year public career in the U.S. House and Senate, especially his tenure as chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee for the years 1959-1975.
MC 1698: The Fulbright Experience Project Materials
Historian Steven Alan Channing (1940- ), a 1977 to 1978 U.S. Fulbright-Hays Scholar to Italy, earned his Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Audiovisual sources include Betacam videocassettes, Reel to Reel audiotapes, and Type C video recordings containing interviews and other source materials about The Fulbright Experience in locations such as Brazil, Washington, D.C., UCLA, and New York City.
MC 1279, J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Records
Contained are the minutes of the meetings and historical materials related to the Board; minutes of the meetings, annual program proposals and annual reports of binational commissions/foundations; and publications.
MC 878, James B. Meriwether Papers
The papers consist primarily of records accumulated by Meriwether during his chairmanship of the Board of Foreign Scholarships and include the Board’s minutes of the meetings, correspondence, and other material pertaining to educational exchange.