Manuscript Resources for Women's Studies
This document represents an overview of selected primary manuscript sources in Special Collections. The collections represent women whose achievements have already attracted attention as well as those whose contributions have been less visible. Finding aids to these collections provide more detailed information.
N.B. Since the publication of this guide in 1989, many collections have been added. Access to these holdings is through the online catalog. See also the list of manuscript collections by subject for women's studies.
Entries are arranged alphabetically by title of the
collections. Each entry includes a descriptive term for the entire collection,
such as "papers" or "scrapbooks;" inclusive dates, the size of the collection,
and annotations about the scope and content of the material. Researchers
should contact Special Collections for
more specific information about these collections or other resources.
1. American Association of University Women. Fayetteville Branch Records, 1923-1984; 2 linear feet and 6 volumes. Minutes, scrapbooks, yearbooks, financial reports, correspondence, membership directories, and other organizational records pertaining primarily to the Fayetteville branch (Washington County) of AAUW, established in 1922. A few items relate to the Arkansas Division of the AAUW, most notably a book of minutes from its organizational meeting in October 1923 through April 1932. Finding aid online.
2. Arkansas Council on Human Relations
Records, 1954-1968; 18 linear feet. Correspondence, memoranda,
reports, clippings, pamphlets, newsletters, and sound recordings
created or received by the Arkansas Council on Human Relations,
organized in December of 1954 and incorporated in July of
1955, in Little Rock (Pulaski County). This social change
organization was created to improve equal opportunities for
all peoples and to make continued progress in race relations
sure and smooth. Of particular interest are materials pertaining
to desegregation of the Little Rock schools, including correspondence,
news releases, and reports of several women's groups such
as the Women's Emergency Committee to Open Our Schools, organized
in September 1958; the Council of Church Women, Little Rock;
and the Women's Society of Christian Service. An extensive
index to correspondents lists Ruth Arnold, Thelma Babbitt,
Vivion Brewer, Thelma Engler, Elaine McNeil, Dorothy Nichols,
Floy Sparling, Mrs. David D. (Adolphine Fletcher) Terry, and
Finding aid online.
Arkansas Equal Suffrage Central Committee Records, 1918;
1 item. Program and list of officers for the First Annual
Meeting of the Arkansas Equal Suffrage Central Committee,
held in Little Rock (Pulaski County), April 2, 1918.
4. Arkansas Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs Scrapbooks, 1933-1938; 5 volumes. Created by persons holding the office of State Scrap Book Chairman to document activities of the organization, the scrapbooks include newspaper clippings, photographs, and programs. Materials pertain primarily to state and local events, with occasional inclusion of regional and national activities. Finding aid online.
5. Arkansas Female College Broadside, 1882-1883; 1 item. Notice for the ninth annual session of the Arkansas Female College in Little Rock (Pulaski County) for the year 1882-1883. Lists trustees, faculty, costs, and information on examinations and boarding. Finding aid online.
6. Arkansas League of Women Voters Records, 1953-1987; 9 3/4 linear feet. Annual reports, minutes, correspondence, publications, clippings, and photographs for the state organization and twenty-two local leagues. Although local groups were active as early as the 1920s, the statewide league was established in 1955. Finding aid online.
7. Arkansas Music Collection Miscellaneous collection, 1921-1980; 5 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, musical scores, sound recordings, clippings, photographs, and other materials pertaining to preparation of James R. Pebworth's Directory of 132 Arkansas Composers (Fayetteville: University Library, University of Arkansas, 1979), collected with the cooperation of Dr. Barbara Garvey Jackson, professor of music, University of Arkansas. First series consists of correspondence from 1976 to 1979 between Pebworth and Arkansas composers considered for inclusion in the directory. Remaining series include other materials collected for the project. Indexes identify arrangers, composers, lyricists, classifications of music, and titles. The final section lists sources pertaining to Arkansas music located in the Special Collections and Audiovisual departments of the University of Arkansas Libraries. Thirty-five women are included representing a wide range of contributions to music, among them: Florence Price, recipient of the 1932 Wanamaker Award for her Symphony in E Minor; Lorraine Apple, a Little Rock teacher and writer of popular and sacred songs; Nola Arndt, opera singer who performed at Carnegie Hall, with the St. Louis Symphony, and with other orchestras; Mabel Bean, who collaborated with her daughter, Margaret Bean Jasper, William Grant Still, and others; Hattie May Butterfield, professor of music, College of the Ozarks; Imogene Carpenter, who performed in High Kickers and Ziegfield Follies of 1941; Sylvia Dee, composer of "Too Young", recorded by Nat King Cole, and for the Broadway show Barefoot Boy with Cheek; Dale Evans, who completed high school in Osceola (Mississippi County) before going on to her singing and acting career; Margaret June Hendrickson, co-composer of the score for Wonder Valley, a 1950 film about Arkansas; Olga Livesay, the first female singer to have a million-selling record, "I Want to Be a Cowboy's Sweetheart;" Lily Peter, composer and patron of the arts; Virginia Queen, professor of music, Ouachita Baptist University; Lillian Robbins, associated with television station KFOX in Hot Springs (Garland County); Jule McIver Wood, who was active in the American Federation of Women Composers.
8. Arkansas State Music Teachers Association Records, 1921-1968; 7 linear feet. Correspondence, minutes, reports, examinations, certification data, membership lists, and clippings pertaining to the Arkansas State Music Teachers Association, founded in 1915. In addition to activities directed at improving and expanding music education in the state's public schools, the organization developed standards and tests for music teacher certification. Finding aid online.
9. Arkansas State Nurses Association District 9 Records, 1956-1983; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, minutes, reports, and bylaws of the Arkansas State Nurses Association and of the association's District 14 for northwest Arkansas. The state association was organized in 1912. Finding aid online.
10. Arkansas Woman's Suffrage Association Records, 1915-1916; 5 pages. Typescript minutes of the association's organizational meeting, May 13, 1915; its October 25, 1915, meeting; and an executive board meeting of July 16, , held in Little Rock (Pulaski County) with representatives from across the state.
11. Virgil Lyle Baker Papers, 1926-1940, 1965, 1968; 1/2 linear foot. Correspondence, notes, lists, clippings, photographs, playbills, and other material pertaining to the careers and professional interests of Baker, professor and head of the University of Arkansas Department of Speech and Dramatic Arts; and of his wife, Lillian Bay Baker (1898-1978), instructor and acting head of the department during 1936-1937 and 1943-1944. One file contains materials copied from a scrapbook created by Lillian Baker. Items include playbills and clippings about productions she directed at the University of Arkansas and information about presentations she made to clubs. Other files contain references to Mrs. Baker. Finding aid online.
12. Ida G. Barr Scrapbook, ca. 1896; 1 volume. Scrapbook created by Ida G. Barr, an Arkansas Industrial University student in 1896. Includes an 1896 graduation program, manuscript of a senior class song written by Barr, clippings, and a photograph of Old Main dated 1904-1906.
13. Daisy Bates Papers, 1948-1986; 7 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, audio tapes, and film primarily from the 1960s and 1970s, pertaining to the publishing and civil rights activities of Daisy Lee Gatson Bates and her husband, L.C. Bates of Little Rock (Pulaski County). The Bateses published the weekly Arkansas State Press from May 9, 1941, through October 1959. Mrs. Bates revived the paper in April 1984 and sold it in December 1987. She was elected president of the Arkansas State Conference of NAACP branches in 1952, and her husband served as the NAACP state field director, 1960-1971. She may be best known as advisor to the Little Rock Nine and as author of The Long Shadow of Little Rock, originally published in 1962 and reissued in 1986 by the University of Arkansas Press. This collection also contains correspondence and working files for Mrs. Bates's involvement as project director of the Mitchellville Office of Equal Opportunity Self-Help Project (Arkansas County), 1968-1974. The collection contains over four hundred photographs of the Bateses, the Little Rock Nine, public figures, entertainers, family, and friends. Of special interest is a photograph of Mrs. Bates with Eleanor Roosevelt. Notable correspondents include Beryl Anthony, Harry Ashmore, Wiley Branton, Dale Bumpers, Jimmy Carter, Steve Clark, Bill Clinton, Gloster B. Current, Max Delson, Orval Faubus, Joan Ganz, Ernest Green, John Howard Griffin, Benjamin Hooks, Elizabeth Huckaby, Fannie Hurst, Edith Irby Jones, Kivie Kaplan, Alfred Baker Lewis, Thelma Mothershed, Pauli Murray, Paulene Myers, Ellis Thomas, and Roy Wilkins. Finding aid online.
14. Margaret Bebee Scrapbook, 1929-1930; 1 item. Clippings, invitations, and photographs collected by Margaret Bebee, a 1930 graduate of Fort Smith Senior High School (Sebastian County). The photographs include some family pictures. Finding aid online.
15. Evalena Berry Papers, 1980-1985; 1 linear foot. Research notes, publisher's proofs, and photographs pertaining to Berry's books Time and The River, A History of Cleburne County (Rose Publishing Co., 1982) and a history of the health spa Sugar Loaf Springs (River Road Press, 1985). Finding aid online.
16. Emma Stevenson Black Papers, 1829-1986; 199 items. Correspondence, clippings, legal documents, and photographs pertaining to members of the Wheeler, Carnall, and Stevenson families of Arkansas, Indian Territory, and Oklahoma. Correspondents include Fannie Carnall, Alice I. Hogan, Corrie Foster Wheeler Kobel, Daisy Wheeler Stevenson, Abbie Carnall Warren, and Emma Carnall Wheeler. Also includes a handwritten memorial resolution from the Arkansas Industrial University faculty honoring Ella H. Carnall, for whom the University of Arkansas's Carnall Hall is named. Finding aid online.
17. Amanda Malvina Fitzallen McClellan Braly Papers, 1860-1865, 1908, 1920; 145 items. Correspondence, diary, notebook, clippings, photographs, and other records pertaining to the Braly family of Cane Hill (Washington County). Correspondents include Mary Frances Braly, Laura Elizabeth Hagood Braly, Sallie B. King, and Etta Lewis Braly McColloch.
18. Jennie E. Brander Letter, 1863; 1 item. Four-page letter written by Jennie E. Brander to an unnamed friend at Bellevue, [Louisiana], from Bolivar, Mississippi. She describes her activities as a teacher, the impact on her and other townspeople when Union troops burned Bolivar in the fall of 1862, rumors of conditions in Vicksburg, and attitudes toward international sympathy for the Southern cause.
19. Mary Susan High Casey Brisco Papers, 1954; 4 items. Copy of a manuscript text and a typewritten transcript of autobiographical information pertaining to folk singer Mary Brisco (1875-1958) of Berryville (Carroll County). Includes a three-page introduction by Mary Celestia Parler, University of Arkansas folklorist, and a photograph of Brisco.
20. Lola Brown Diary, 1923-1930; 1 item. Copy of a forty-page transcript of a diary recording the personal and family life of Mrs. Lola Brown of Coal Hill and Clarksville (Johnson County). The time period covered by the diary includes her courtship and early years of married life, from December 26, 1923, to November 29, 1930. The transcript was prepared by Walter Mooney.
21. Butler and Paisley Families Papers, 1829-1890s; 2 linear feet. Correspondence, business records, and photographs pertaining to members of the Butler and Paisley families. William Paisley operated a general store in Dobyville and, later, in Gurdon (Clark County). A selection of the letters has been edited and published by Elizabeth Paisley Huckaby and Ethel C. Simpson in Tulip Evermore: Emma Butler and William Paisley, Their Lives in Letters, 1857-1887 (University of Arkansas Press, 1985). Finding aid online.
22. Mary Byroade Papers, 1808-1946; 3 linear feet. Correspondence, legal documents, business papers, clippings, and photographs pertaining to the Vincenheller family of Fayetteville (Washington County), the Austin family of Van Buren (Crawford County), and the Byroade family of Fayetteville. Includes courtship letters and a bride's book of Miriam Austin Vincenheller dated 1902 and year books for 1927 to 1930 of the Fayetteville Twentieth Century Club. Other correspondents include Mrs. W. G. Vincenheller, Mary Virginia Vincenheller Byroade, and Margaret Seals (who was a prisoner of war in the Phillipines during World War II). Finding aid online.
23. Cora Pinkley Call Papers, 1885-1977; 5 linear feet and 2 volumes. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, diaries, scrapbooks, pamphlets, clippings, artwork, photographs, and post cards pertaining to the life and career of writer Cora Elizabeth Pinkley Call (1892-1966) of Eureka Springs (Carroll County). She was founder and president of the Ozark Writers and Artists Guild and published, with Edith Bestard, the nationally distributed periodical Ozark Gardens. Call and lyceum performer Thomas Elmore Lucey operated Ozark News, Features and Pictures Syndicate, a manuscript and clipping service. Manuscripts and clippings pertain to her short stories, essays, and articles on gardening, nature, and the Ozarks. Her books include Pioneer Tales of Eureka Springs and Carroll County (n.p. 1930), From My Ozark Cupboard (Kansas City, Missouri: Allan Publications, 1950), and True Stories of Birds and Animals (Berryville, Ark.: Braswell Printing Co., 1960). Finding aid online.
24. Ellen Maria Harrell Cantrell Manuscripts, 1895-1897; 4 items. Four manuscripts of speeches and articles, including an article Ellen Maria Harrell Cantrell of Little Rock (Pulaski County) prepared for the woman's edition of the Arkansas Democrat, November 18, 1895, and the paper she presented on Arkansas Day at the Tennessee Centennial Exposition in 1897. Cantrell was active in several women's clubs, serving as the second Regent for the Arkansas Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
25. Hattie Wyatt Caraway Papers, 1884-1950; 83 items. Correspondence, journal, scrapbooks, and photographs pertaining to the political career and family affairs of Hattie Caraway (1878-1950) of Jonesboro (Craighead County). She was the first woman elected to the United States Senate. Includes a ten-page memoir of her childhood and adolescence in Tennessee and a journal she kept from 1931 to 1934. The journal has been edited and published with an introduction by Diane D. Kincaid, Silent Hattie Speaks (Greenwood Press, 1979). Notable correspondents include Grace Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Harry S. Truman. Finding aid online.
26. Ruth Carr [pseud.] Scrapbook, ca. 1911; 1 volume. Contains twenty-nine pages of clippings, most of which are stories and articles published by Martha Alice Caruth Robertson (1864-1929). A copy of an undated paper about Ruth Carr read by Mrs. Shearer at the Woman's Club in DeValls Bluff (Prairie County) indicates that Robertson was born in Washington (Hempstead County). Robertson's articles appeared in several publications including the Western Methodist and Epworth Era. The only dated article in this collection appeared in the March 22, 1911, issue of the St. Louis Advocate.
27. Lorna Lack Cates Papers, 1853-1919; 81 items. Correspondence, farm account book, legal documents, receipts, and photographs pertaining to the Woolverton and Halbrook families of Henry County, Tennessee, and Van Buren and Conway counties in Arkansas. Includes photographs of Sarah Elizabeth Woolverton Halbrook and Alice Woolverton. Finding aid online.
28. Maude Coffin and Fairy Coffin Lynd Papers, 1860-1988; 134 items. Reminiscences, family papers, clippings, and photographs pertaining to Maude Kendrick Coffin (1888-1988) of Fayetteville (Washington County) and to her daughter, Fairy Coffin Lynd (1922-1986) of Stillwater, Oklahoma. Born in Virginia, Maude Kendrick spent her adolescence in St. Paul (Madison County). She and her husband operated bakeries in Fayetteville and Lincoln (Washington County). The collection includes Mrs. Coffin's family history, Pioneer Days, her reminiscences, and numerous photographs taken during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in St. Paul and Fayetteville. Fairy Coffin Lynd and her husband, J. Q. Lynd, researched in the fields of antibiotics in soil micro-organisms and cancer. The collection includes a 1987 radio transcript of a Paul Harvey news story about Fairy Lynd's contributions. Finding aid online.
29. Gertrude Fallin Cook Papers, 1830-1878; 24 items. Correspondence, legal documents, receipts pertaining primarily to the Bloyd family of Washington County. Includes two letters from Hester McMurtry of Newburg, Indiana, and recipes for nine household products.
30. Florence Brown Cotnam Collection, 1885-1968; 1 1/4 linear feet. Correspondence, notebooks, speeches, clippings, and pamphlets pertaining to the public speaking and political activities of Florence Brown (Mrs. T. T.) Cotnam (1865-1932) of Little Rock (Pulaski County). Mrs. Cotnam was the first woman to address the Arkansas legislature and the first woman in Arkansas selected as a delegate to a national political conventiont--the national Democratic convention in San Francisco in 1920. She was active in numerous women's clubs including the Equal Suffrage Association, the League of American Pen Women, Arkansas League of Women Voters, United Daughters of the Confederacy, the Arkansas Democratic Women's Club, and others. Finding aid online.
31. Josephine B. Crump Papers, 1894-1920; 26 items. Journal of personal reminiscences, correspondence, and literary manuscripts of Josephine Bonaparte Wright Greenlee Crump (1840-1920) of Harrison (Boone County) and Little Rock (Pulaski County). Includes information about events during the Civil War and Crump's activities in the Woman's Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Crump's books of published verses include Echoes from the Ozarks (Muskogee, Okla.: Hoffman-Speed Printing, 1913) and By the Fireside (Harrison, Ark.: n.p., 1920). Finding aid online.
32. Crump and Garvin Families Papers, 1866-1985; 58 items and 1 roll of microfilm. Correspondence and scrapbooks pertaining to members of the Crump and Garvin families of Harrison (Boone County). Includes an 1886 wedding book for Mintie Crump and Ford M. Garvin and a 1917 fifty-first wedding anniversary book for Colonel George J. and Josephine B. Crump. Correspondents include Josephine Bonaparte Wright Greenlee Crump, Lulu Garvin Fitton, and Mintie Helen Crump Garvin. Finding aid online.
33. Currie Family Papers, 1852-1891; 137 items. Correspondence and financial documents pertaining to the Currie family of Woodruff County. Most of the letters concern post-Civil War issues and family matters. Correspondents include Kate Currie, Mary P. Currie, Dora Currie Monroe, Alice Currie, and Fannie Moore. Finding aid available online. Finding aid online.
34. Daphne Dailey Papers, 1923-1947; 2 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, school papers, church papers, and photographs pertaining to the student activities and teaching career of Daphne Lowell Dailey (born 1913). A 1932 graduate of the University of Arkansas, she taught English and journalism in high schools in Fayetteville (Washington County) and Fort Smith (Sebastian County). Also includes materials pertaining to the Fayetteville Church of Christ, in which her father served as an elder. Finding aid online.
35. Jeff Davis Papers, 1849-1896; 6 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, speeches, legal and financial documents, clippings, scrapbooks, and photographs pertaining to the career and life of politician Jeff Davis and his family of Russellville (Pope County), including his wife, Ina McKenzie Davis; his mother-in- law, Janie Norment McKenzie Thatch; and his daughters, Bessie, Lynah, Janie, Ina (Polly), and Lucille. Finding aid online.
36. Delta Delta Delta. Delta Iota Chapter Records, 1914-1959; 1 linear foot. Minutes, reports, bylaws, and other records pertaining to the Delta Iota Chapter of Delta Delta Delta sorority at the University of Arkansas. Organized in 1910 as a local sorority, Alpha Upsilon, the group was incorporated in the national Delta Delta Delta organization in 1913. Notable chapter alumnae include Louise McPhetridge Thaden, aviatrix and winner of the 1936 Bendix Transcontinental Air Race; Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni, named poet laureate of Arkansas in 1953; and Donna Axum, Miss America in 1963. Finding aid online.
37. Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. Iota Chapter Records,1961-1962, 1973-1984; 82 items and 1 volume. Scrapbook and newsletters of Delta Kappa Gamma, women's education honor society. The University of Arkansas chapter was organized March 24, 1944. Louise Bell served as first president. Finding aid online.
38. DeWitt Mothers' Club Records, 1916-1986; 3 rolls of microfilm. Minutes, reports, yearbooks, scrapbooks, and other records of the DeWitt Mothers' Club (Arkansas County). Organized in 1916 as the Twentieth Century Mothers Club, this group has sponsored numerous social and civic projects, including the DeWitt City Library which was established in 1926. Finding aid online.
39. James and Belle Dinwiddie Architectural drawings, [1920-1955]; 100 items, estimated. Blueprints of preliminary working drawings, schematic designs, sketches of structural details, and construction specifications for architectural projects developed by Belle A. Dinwiddie (1895-1978) of Rogers (Benton County) and her uncle, James Dinwiddie of Fayetteville (Washington County). The collection includes items pertaining to eight of her projectsthe Farm Bureau Co-Operative, the First Baptist Church Education Building, three private residences, and three other commercial buildings. Finding aid online.
40. George Washington Donaghey Papers, 1870-1947; 356 items. Correspondence, photographs, speeches, and clippings related to the political, business, and personal lives of Governor Donaghey and his wife, Martha Louvenia Wallace Donaghey (1862-1947), of Conway (Faulkner County). Numerous items in the first three series of this collection pertain to Mrs. Donaghey, especially photographs, and the fourth series of eighty- four items consists of her correspondence and related materials. Finding aid online.
41. Crescent Dragonwagon Papers, 1981-1986; 2 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, and other papers pertaining to the writing career of Crescent Dragonwagon of Eureka Springs (Carroll County). Sub-collections received to date include papers related to her books, To Take a Dare (Harper & Row, 1982) and Half a Moon and One Whole Star (Macmillan, 1986). Unprocessed.
42. Beverley Githens Dresbach Papers, 1890-1971; 3 linear feet and 1 volume. Correspondence, manuscripts, scrapbooks, and photographs pertaining to the lives and literary careers of Dresbach (1903-1971) and her husband, Glenn Ward Dresbach, of Eureka Springs (Carroll County). Her published books include Novitiate (privately published, 1938) and No Splendor Perishes (Dierkes Press, 1946). She was also a feature writer for a number of Arkansas newspapers as well as the Kansas City Star and the Christian Science Monitor.Finding aid online.
43. Fontaine Richard Earle Letters, 1861-1908; 77 items. Photocopies of seventy-seven letters, forty of which were written to Amanda Buchanan Earle (1834-1894) of Cane Hill (Washington County), by her husband, Fontaine Richard Earle. She graduated from Union Female College, Oxford, Mississippi, in 1858, then taught in Cane Hill, Clarksville (Johnson County), and Van Buren (Crawford County). Thirty-seven of the letters were edited by Robert E. Waterman and Thomas Rothrock and published as "The Earle-Buchanan Letters, 1861-1876," Arkansas Historical Quarterly 33 (Spring 1974): 99-174. A lengthy letter written by Amanda on February 28, 1864, describes to her cousins significant changes at Cane Hill since the previous November. Also includes letters written by Katie Johnson, Laura G. Boxley, and Clara Earle. Finding aid online.
44. Nanette Williams Elsass Papers, 1903-1969; 28 items. Scrapbooks, literary manuscripts, travel journals, and other documents created or collected by members of the Purkins, Williams, and Delony families of Hope (Hempstead County). One scrapbook pertains to the kindergarten established and operated by Marie Antoinette Purkins (born 1883) from 1938 to 1962. A travel journal describes Nannie Purkins's train trip to California in September, 1928. The second scrapbook records family affairs of Sophia Purkins Williams (born 1895) from 1902 to 1943. A 1912 memory book records the honeymoon trip of Mr. and Mrs. William Edgar Briant of Hope. An undated travel journal by Lucy Elise Delony describes her visit to Japan soon after World War I. Finding aid online.
45. Clara Bertha Eno Collection, 1830-1947;
176 items and 1 roll of microfilm. Correspondence, bills of
lading, legal and financial documents, reminiscences, and
other papers collected by Clara Bertha Eno (1854-1951). Much
of the material pertains to businesses in Van Buren (Crawford
County) in the 1840s and 1850s, to steamboats on the Arkansas
River, and to the affairs of David C. Williams, John Henry
and Edward Cunningham, and Dr. Henry Pernot. Teacher, writer,
and collector, Clara Eno made many contributions to Arkansas
history research. She was also active in numerous organizations,
including the first Arkansas History Commission, the Arkansas
Federation of Women's Clubs, and the Women's Literary Club
of Van Buren, of which she was a charter member in 1896.
46. Fayetteville Business and Professional Women's Club Scrapbooks, 1929-1946 and 1964-1984; 27 volumes. Newspaper clippings, photographs, and programs pertaining to activities of the Fayetteville chapter of the National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs (Washington County). The Fayetteville chapter was organized in 1924. Finding aid online.
47. Fayetteville Council of Garden Clubs Records, 1960-1982; 140 items and 1 volume. Minutes, constitutions, and scrapbooks pertaining to the Fayetteville Council of Garden Clubs (Washington County), organized to coordinate the interests of the city's garden clubs. Finding aid online.
48. Fayetteville Garden Club Records, 1955-1987; 295 items and 1 volume. Minutes, yearbooks, and scrapbooks recording activities of the Fayetteville (Washington County) Garden Club, established in 1932. Projects have included park cleanups and other city beautification projects. Finding aid online.
49. Fayetteville Outlook Club Records, 1925-1978; 3 volumes. Minutes of the Fayetteville Outlook Club (Washington County), organized February 27, 1925. The first program of study selected by the club members was a current events course through the University of Arkansas Extension Department. Finding aid online.
50. Fayetteville Perennial Garden Club Records, 1930-1976; 1 linear foot. Minutes, reports, program booklets, membership lists, photographs, and clippings pertaining to the Perennial Garden Club of Fayetteville (Washington County). Organized June 18, 1930, the club's goals were to promote home gardening, city beautification, and protection of forests and wild flowers. Finding aid online.
51. Alina Fernandez Papers, 1980-1984; 3 linear feet. Reports, office files, clippings, educational materials, audio recordings, and photographs pertaining to Alina Fernandez's work for the Cuban Haitian Task Force at Ft. Chaffee (Sebastian County). The documents refer to camp operations and resettlement. Also includes materials prepared and collected in the educational program to help the Cuban refugees learn English and prepare for life in the United States, as well as five cassette recordings of interviews. Finding aid online.
52. Charlie May Fletcher Papers, 1945-1973; 258 items. Correspondence and literary manuscripts pertaining to writer Charlie May Hogue Simon Fletcher (1897-1977) of Little Rock (Pulaski County). She published twenty-nine major works during her literary career, including Johnswood (Dutton, 1953), an autobiographical account of her marriage to John Gould Fletcher; Joe Mason (Dutton, 1969), winner of the 1947 Boys Club Junior Book Award; A Seed Shall Serve (London: Hodder & Stoughton, 1960), winner of the 1958 Albert Schweitzer Book Prize; and Martin Buber (Dutton, 1969), winner of the 1970 Jewish Book Club Award. Manuscripts in the collection pertain to Johnswood, two short stories noted as African Legends, an untitled collection of Cherokee legends, and her speech accepting the award for Joe Mason. Correspondents include Helen Jo Adkisson, May Edwards, Alletah Glasier, Joyce Goodwin, Mary D. Hudgins, Barbara Slatter Jones, Marilyn McCarthy, Elizabeth F. McFarland, June Mathers, Edna Means, Edna Neidelman, Linda F. Neslage, Mary Jane Newcomb, Phyllis Old, Pamela W. Quiers, Marguerite J. Reese, Virginia Rock, Diane Shluger, Edna B. Stephens, and Adolphine Fletcher Terry.
53. John Gould Fletcher Papers, 1881-1960; 26 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, lectures, and other professional and personal papers of John Gould Fletcher, who was born in Little Rock (Pulaski County). Fletcher was awarded a Pulitzer Prize in 1938 for Selected Poems. The collection is supplemented by microfilm of Fletcher's letters preserved in other repositories. An extensive correspondents' index lists numerous women with whom Fletcher and his wife, Charlie May Simon Fletcher, corresponded concerning literature, mutual interests, and family matters. Correspondents include Hilda Doolittle Aldington, Rita Benton, Gabriele Brezina, Ruth Campbell, Ina Sizer Cassidy, Alice Corbin, Kathleen Coyle, Katharine Murdoch Davis, Mary Drennan, Ora Dusenbury, Florence Emily Fletcher, Mary P. Fletcher, Elsie Freund, Dorothy Hobson, Lorna Hyde, Clara B. Kennan, Amy Lowell, Mary MacDowell, Rosa Marinoni, Harriet Monroe, Eleanor Risley, Ada D. Russell, Vera Snook, Catherine Steele, Sara Teasdale, Adolphine Fletcher Terry, Ruth Tuthill, Helen A. Vinton, Ann Winslow, and Dorothy Atwood Yarnell. Finding aid online.
54. Susan Bricelin Fletcher Memoir, 1908; 1 item. Personal reminiscence of experiences on a plantation located about 20 miles west of Little Rock (Pulaski County) during the Civil War and in Little Rock during the years immediately following. Susan Bricelin Fletcher (born ca. 1838) began writing this memoir in August, 1908.
55. Folklore Collection, 1949-1982; 54 1/2 linear feet. Audio tape recordings, transcriptions, class reports, and bound typescripts collected primarily under the direction of Mary Celestia Parler Randolph (1904-1981). The 442 reels of sound recordings include folk songs, both vocal and instrumental, and oral folk tales, anecdotes, and reminiscences. The class reports consist of seventy-two boxes of papers submitted for folklore classes at the University of Arkansas, 1958-1982, taught first by Mary Celestia Parler Randolph and now by Robert B. Cochran. Twenty-two bound volumes of typescripts contain folk beliefs, proverbs, riddles, songs, and ballads. Finding aid online.
56. Edsel Ford Papers, 1928-1971; 28 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, scrapbooks, photographs, and other material pertaining to the life and work of poet Edsel Ford (1928-1970) of Rogers (Benton County). One series of correspondence is primarily between Ford and Kathryn Kruger Post (1890-1972) of Arlington Heights, Illinois, pertaining to his career, his writings, the art of poetry, Post's writings, and her contributions to his career. Also includes significant correspondence with Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni, Beverley Githens Dresbach, Elsa Vaught, Blanche H. Elliott, Harriet Monroe, Vaida Stewart Montgomery, Sue Abbott Boyd, and others.
57. Fort Smith Fortnightly Club Records, 1888-1986; 2 linear feet and 8 volumes. Correspondence, minutes, yearbooks, scrapbook, study papers, clippings, and photographs pertaining to the Fort Smith Fortnightly Club (Sebastian County), founded in 1888. Its members created the Fortnightly Club Library Association which was responsible for the opening of Fort Smith's first public library during the summer of 1889. The club's first president was Mrs. Isaac C. Parker. Finding aid online.
58. Futrall Family Papers, 1831-1985; 3 1/4 linear feet. Correspondence, clippings, programs, memorials, genealogical records, and photographs pertaining to the Futrall family of Washington County. Women of this family for whom materials can be found in the collection include Helen Gaines Duke, Annie Duke Futrall (for whom the University of Arkansas's Futrall Hall is named), Alma Futrall, Emily Futrall Donaldson, Helen Futrall Stough, and Joan Futrall Lines. Finding aid online.
59. William A. Gilbert Papers, 1923-1969; 1 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, essays, business papers, clippings, newsletters, pamphlets, and photographs pertaining to the political, socialist, and business activities of Gilbert and his wife Viola Demaree Hendricks Gilbert (born 1889) of Ink (Polk County). Two typewritten essays provide autobiographical information about Viola Gilbert's experiences at Newllano Co- Operative Colony located in Vernon Parish, Louisiana. Photographs include pictures of the Gilberts, as well as scenes and persons at Newllano Co-Operative Colony and Commonwealth College (Polk County) including Kate Richards O'Hare, Ivy Van Etten, Mrs. J. C. Crawford, and Mabel, Laura, Ruby, and Lillie Synoground. Finding aid online.
60. Marguerite Gilstrap Papers, 1918-1988; 4 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, speeches, news releases, memoranda, clippings, and other papers created or collected by Marguerite Gilstrap, originally from St. Paul (Madison County). Writer and teacher, Gilstrap was employed as editorial assistant with the University of Arkansas News Bureau from 1937 to 1942, and as public information specialist and technical writer with the United States Department of Agriculture from 1942 to 1966. She was active with the Women's National Press Club, serving as vice president in 1960-1961 and as a regular participant in their annual dinners and stunt parties during the period 1953 to 1966.
61. Ariel Idella Hottel Gist Papers, 1892-1898, 1923-32, 1968; 63 items. Journal, correspondence, photographs, and clippings pertaining primarily to experiences of Ariel Idella Della Hottel Gist (1870-1928) in St. Croix, Virgin Islands, from June 1892 through June 1893 while she was governess to the children of the United States Consul, Major W. F. Moore. She came to Phillips County after marrying Bogan Gist in 1900.
62. Jewel Sigman Hare Papers, 1940-1960; 16 items. Letters, clippings, and manuscripts written by local historian, Jewel Sigman Hare, pertaining to the history of Cross County. Includes eleven newspaper articles published in the Wynne Progress, 1940-1959, and three historical sketches written 1956, 1959, and 1960.
63. Lawrence Brooks Hays Papers, 1844, 1915-1972, 1978; 93 linear feet. Correspondence, diaries, notes, literary manuscripts, reports, speeches, clippings, photographs, sound recordings, and other materials pertaining to the career and personal life of politician Lawrence Brooks Hays, originally of Pope County, and to members of his family. Correspondents include Marion Prather Hays, his wife; Sallie Butler Hays, his mother; Betty Brooks Hays Bell, his daughter; as well as Bernie Smade Babcock, Hattie Wyatt Caraway, Margaret Truman Daniel, Edith Green, Sarah Tilghman Hughes, Claudia Alta Taylor (Lady Bird) Johnson, Harryette Morrison, Anna Eleanor Roosevelt, and Margaret Chase Smith.
64. Helena Women's Library Association
Program, 1894; 1 item. Printed program for a benefit performance
of A Spanish Evening held April 24, 1894. The Helena Women's
Library Association (Phillips County) was founded in 1888.
65. Lynn Hornsby Collection, 1958-1961; 36 items. Reports, bulletins, and miscellaneous publications pertaining to the League of Women Voters of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County) and to the statewide league. Materials include budgets, agendas, programs, newsletters, membership rosters, clippings, and other items collected by member Lynn Hornsby.
66. Lula Jane Howell Papers, 1858-1948; 20 items. Correspondence, diary, manuscripts of histories of the Uniontown Christian Church and of the Poage family, and photographs collected or created by church secretary Lula Jane Howell of Crawford County. The papers also contain a history of Uniontown written by Ruby Yancy Howell. Finding aid online.
67. Elizabeth Paisley Huckaby Papers, 1957-1958; 1 1/2 linear feet. Journals, correspondence, notes, memoranda, reports, interview transcripts, school publications and other materials created or collected by Elizabeth Huckaby, teacher and administrator at Little Rock Central High School (Pulaski County) from 1930 to 1969. Appointed to the position of Vice Principal for Girls in 1954, she was active in the school's administration during the first year of integration, 1957-1958. This collection pertains to her experiences during that period. Also includes two rough drafts of her book Crisis at Central High, Little Rock, 1957-58 (Louisiana State University Press, 1980). Finding aid online.
68. Mary Dengler Hudgins Collection, 1800-1986; 55 linear feet. Correspondence, research files, maps, sheet music, clippings, photographs, post cards, and other papers created or collected by Mary Dengler Hudgins (1901-1987) of Hot Springs (Garland County). Writer, librarian, and collector, Hudgins began transferring sub- collections of her materials to the University of Arkansas Libraries in 1972 with the largest portion arriving in 1984. Hudgins's wide ranging interests are reflected in the variety and depth of her collection of Arkansiana, with a special emphasis on Arkansas music and composers. Finding aid online.
69. Roy G. Hutcheson Collection, 1837, 1845, 1864-65; 14 items. Letters and a fragment of a diary written by an unidentified woman, June 13 to November 6, 1837, describing a journey from Camden, [New York] to [Peoria County], Illinois. Later entries were added to the diary, January 1 to November 29, 1845, apparently by another unidentified person in Camden. Finding aid online.
70. Irby Family Papers, 1905-1941; 105 items and 4 volumes. Family and business papers pertaining to the Stephen W. Irby family of Desha County. Includes four volumes of unattributed poetry written and copied by Mrs. Mattie E. Moore of Refuge (Desha County).
71. Nannie Stillwell Jackson Diary, 1890-1891; 4 items. Copies and a transcript of a diary kept by Nannie Hudson Stillwell Jackson (1854-1908) of Desha County. Margaret Jones Bolsterli edited and wrote an introduction to the diary which has been published as Vinegar Pie and Chicken Bread: A Woman's Diary of Life in the Rural South, 1890-1891 (University of Arkansas Press, 1982).
72. Lighton Family Papers, 1828-1987; 15 linear feet + 33 volumes. Diaries, correspondence, literary manuscripts, clippings, scrapbooks, financial records, and photographs pertaining to the lives, careers, and research interests of the William Rheem Lighton family. Laura McMaken Lighton (1869-1948) was a land developer in Fayetteville (Washington County). Two of her businesses were the Green Tree Inn tea house and the Green Tree Apartments. She was active in the Perennial Garden Club, the Friday Social Club, and the city library. Materials in the collection also pertain to the lives and careers of their three daughters. For Dorothy Lighton Benton (1893-1967), this consists primarily of family correspondence. Suzanne Lighton (1905-1978) was a writer and lawyer who was active in numerous civic organizations, including the Arkansas State Democratic Women's Club. Marjorie Betty Lighton (born 1912) has been active in a number of arenas. She worked in community theater and dance, was a court reporter, joined the Red Cross during World War II, worked as a Girl Scout executive, and served as associate director of the YWCA in Dayton, Ohio. Upon her retirement in 1964, she returned to Fayetteville. Finding aid online.
73. Alice E. Lincoln Scrapbook, 1939-1940; 1 volume. Clippings, photographs, notes, and other papers collected by Alice E. Lincoln while she was a student at the University of Arkansas, 1939-1940, pertaining primarily to her activities in Chi Omega sorority.
74. Pearl Mary Lone Scrapbook, 1912-1913; 1 volume. Handwritten notes, lists, invitations, clippings, programs, and photographs created or collected by Pearl Mary Lone, who graduated from Rogers Academy, located in Benton County, on May 28, 1913. She placed these materials describing her and her classmates' activities into a bound scrapbook entitled The Girl Graduate: Her Book, with drawings and sections identified for various categories of keepsakes. The book was designed and illustrated by Louise Perrett and Sarah K. Smith (Chicago: Reilly and Britton Co., n.d.).
75. Robert McCollum and Sephronia Clark McCollum Papers, 1835-1958; 126 items. Correspondence, business papers, and other documents pertaining to the Robert and Sephronia McCollum family of Washington County. Twenty-seven of the letters were written home by their son, Albert, while he served in the First Arkansas Cavalry, C.S.A. These letters were published in the Washington County Historical Society Bulletin 40 (May 1961). Other correspondents include Sephronia Clark McCollum, Jane Booth, Jennie E. Henderson, Rosetta Clark Smith, and Martha A. Walling.
76. McIlroy Family Papers, 1846-1968; 2 1/2 linear feet and 1 volume. Letters, photographs, and business records pertaining to the Powell, Rhea, and McIlroy families of Washington County. Correspondents include Sarah Burns Powell, Elizabeth Cornelia Rhea, and Sarah Ann Rhea McIlroy. One photograph presents thirteen members of the Idle Hour Club of Fayetteville, which was organized in 1902. Finding aid online.
77. Magnolia Joint Stock Company for the Education of Females Records, 1869; 1 item. Articles of agreement and regulations for the establishment of a stock company to organize a Female School at Magnolia (Columbia County). This nine-page document provides for membership, meetings, voting, election of officers, and other business of the company.
78. Martin Family Papers, 1847-1945; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, diaries, photographs, and miscellaneous papers pertaining to the family of Benjamin Wilson Martin and Martha Elizabeth Bond Martin of Bradley County. Includes correspondence and/or diaries for three generations, Mary Bacon Bond, Martha Elizabeth Bond Martin (Mrs. Bond's daughter), Benjamin Wilson Martin (Martha Elizabeth Bond's husband), and Virginia Martin Wilson (Mr. and Mrs. Martin's daughter). Other correspondents include Martha Washington Martin, Mary Clay Martin, M. E. Hughey, and Elizabeth Martin Elliot. Finding aid online.
79. Mena Women's Literary Club Records, 1912-1954; 3 items. Scrapbook and photographs from the Mena Women's Literary Club, founded in Mena (Polk County), in 1898. This club was instrumental in the establishment of the Mena Public Library in 1900. Finding aid online.
80. Modern Literature Club Records, 1926-1988; 3 linear feet. Minutes, yearbooks, correspondence, photographs, and audio cassette tapes of the Modern Literature Club of Fayetteville (Washington County), founded in 1926 as a book study group within the Fayetteville chapter of the American Association of University Women. The audio cassette tapes consist of oral interviews with thirty-two club members about their own lives; the history of the club, of Fayetteville, and of the University of Arkansas; and about modern literature. Women interviewed include Peg Anderson, Diane Blair, Sarah Burnside, Georgia Clark, Rita Davis, Sonia Decker, Carolyn DeLille, Genie Donovan, Judy Fowler, Marguerite Gilstrap, Eunice Hamilton, Ellen Hayward, Harriet Jansma, Portia Kernodle, Eloise Baerg King, Louise Russert Kraemer, Louise Lane, Helen Leflar, Marcia McIvor, Elaine McNeil, Eunice Noland, Jessie O'Kelly, Marjorie Rudolph, Gabriel Schafer, Sylvia Schwartz, Ellen Shipley, Betty Siegal, A. Martha Sutherland, Nancy Ellen Talburt, Gene Tweraser, Frances Vaile, and Doris Drake Wigglesworth. Finding aid online.
81. Dwight Moore Papers, 1896-1975; 12 linear feet. Correspondence, notes, sketches, photographs, scrapbook, and other papers pertaining to the family and career of Dwight Munson Moore, who taught botany at the University of Arkansas from 1924 to 1975. His first wife, Elizabeth French Moore (1897-1965), founded Ozark Mountain Crafts in Fayetteville (Washington County). She was active in the Red Cross, the Salvation Army, and Delta Gamma sorority. A scrapbook for the years 1934 and 1935 as well as seventy-one photographs from the 1930s record activities of the handicrafts house. Finding aid online.
82. May Hope Moose Papers, 1863-1980; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, memoirs, photographs, and miscellaneous family papers, mostly photocopies, pertaining to the Cazort, Garner, Hodnett, Huddleston, McClurkin, and Moose families of Johnson, Jackson, and Conway counties. Includes photocopies of genealogies and memoirs by May Hope Moose, Florence Cazort Byrd, and May Cazort McClurkin. Finding aid online.
83. Morrilton Pathfinder Club Records, 1897-1985; 5 linear feet. Minutes, yearbooks, programs, clippings, correspondence, financial and legal documents, scrapbooks, and photographs pertaining to the Pathfinder Club of Morrilton (Conway County). Organized in 1898, this literary club established the public library in Morrilton in 1913. Its achievements also include acquiring William H. Porter's personal library and securing, in 1916, a Carnegie grant for construction of a new public library building. The Pathfinder-Porter Collection of rare books is housed in the Special Collections Division, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville. Finding aid online.
84. Mary Hannah Johnston Morrow Papers, 1847-1876; 14 items. Diaries, school essays, one letter, and a memorial tribute pertaining to the life of Mary Hannah Johnston Morrow (1847-1876) of Dardanelle (Yell County). The diaries describe family life of the Johnstons and community interests during the period from June 1, 1864, through November 3, 1866.
85. Moss Family Student papers, 1910-1914; 2 volumes. Scrapbooks of two University of Arkansas students, Lowell R. Moss and his sister Mildred Moss. Miss Moss, who graduated in 1914, was a member of Pi Beta Phi sorority and was assistant editor of the University Weekly. Her scrapbook includes clippings and photographs of dances, other social activities, and the student strike in 1912 protesting the expulsion of students involved with the underground newspaper X-Ray. Finding aid online.
86. William O. Munson Letters, 1861-1862; 27 items. Correspondence between William O. Munson, a soldier serving in Kentucky and Tennessee with Company E, Third Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and members of his family in Putnam County, Ohio. Five letters were written to him by his mother, whose name is not identified, and one letter from each of his sisters, Julia and Mary A. Munson.
87. National Collegiate Association for Secretaries. University of Arkansas Chapter Records, 1967-1975; 1 linear foot. Minutes, correspondence, reports, membership data, and scrapbooks for the University of Arkansas Chapter of the National Collegiate Association for Secretaries, established in April 1970. The organization's goals are to promote business teacher education, to encourage the exchange of information among students planning secretarial careers, and to provide contact for the students with business professionals. The first president was Pamela Payne. Finding aid online.
88. Mary Virginia Norris Scrapbook, 1922-1925; 1 volume. Correspondence, clippings, souvenirs, and photographs collected by Mary Virginia Norris, a 1924 graduate of the University of Arkansas. The scrapbook pertains to her student activities and her first year of teaching at Fort Smith High School. While in school she was a member of Delta Delta Delta, Girls Glee Club, YWCA, Black Friars dramatic club, and the honor societies Lambda Tau and Kappa Delta Pi. Finding aid online.
89. Willie Oates Papers, 1928-1985; 2 linear feet. Correspondence, clippings, and photographs pertaining to Willie (Mrs. Gordon P.) Oates (born 1910) of Little Rock (Pulaski County). She served as state representative from Pulaski County, 1958-1960. Selected as Greater Little Rock Woman of the Year in 1955, she has been active in numerous civic organizations including the Little Rock branch of AAUW, the City Beautiful Commission, Friends of the Library, the Salvation Army, the Woman's City Club, and the Arkansas Federation of Women's Clubs. Finding aid online.
90. Organized Independent Women Scrapbooks, 1947-1957; 2 volumes. Clippings, programs, photographs, and other materials pertaining to the Organized Independent Women, a University of Arkansas women's organization. Materials describe activities of the organization only slightly; emphasis is on the achievements of its members.
91. Ozark Gardens Records, 1956-1967; 50 items.Files and subscription lists for the newsletter Ozark Gardens started by Edith Bestard and Cora Pinkley Call of Eureka Springs (Carroll County). Initially entitled From Our Ozark Gardens, the newsletter was first published in 1953 for regional gardeners and grew to have a national readership. Finding aid online.
93. Myrtle McCormick Parks Papers, 1865-1945; 1 linear foot and 3 volumes. Correspondence, diary, ledgers, genealogical material, and photographs pertaining to the McCormick and Parks families of Prairie Grove (Washington County). Myrtle McCormick Parks served as vice president of the Prairie Grove Telephone Company from 1958 to 1978. Finding aid online.
94. Ruth Polk Patterson Papers, 1954-1988; 4 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, research notes, photographs, and slides pertaining to the teaching and writing careers of Ruth Polk Patterson (1930-1988). She began her teaching career in Little Rock (Pulaski County) in 1962, where she implemented an Afro-American Studies program between 1973 and 1980. Includes manuscript versions of her articles and her book, The Seed of Sally Good'n (University Press of Kentucky, 1985). Also includes materials about her activities in professional and civic organizations such as the Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History, the Arkansas Commemorative Commission, and the Arkansas Sesquicentennial Commission. Finding aid online.
95. Peace Links Records, 1977-1989; 21 linear feet. Correspondence, annual reports, newsletters, clippings, articles, photographs, videotapes, and audio recordings pertaining to the organization Peace Links. Founded in 1982 by Betty Bumpers as a grassroots women's network to promote peaceful alternatives to nuclear war, Peace Links grew from a statewide to a worldwide organization in one year. Some of its important contributions to date include establishing the U.S./Soviet Women's Exchange in October 1985, symbolic wrapping of the Peace Ribbon around the Pentagon on August 4, 1985, sponsoring the Peace Quilt to promote dreams of peace for participating United States senators, and adding peace issues to the agendas of linked organizations around the world. Special Collections has been designated the official repository for the permanently valuable records of Peace Links and, as such, will receive future records of the organization. Finding aid online.
96. Zillah Cross Peel Papers, 1898-1980; 1/2 linear foot and 1 volume. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, clippings, and photographs pertaining to the career of Zillah Cross Peel (1874-1941) of Benton and Washington counties. She was managing editor, and later owner, of the Benton County Sun from 1915 to 1922. In 1923, she became associate editor of the University of Arkansas Alumni Magazine. She was a columnist for newspapers in Fayetteville and Fort Smith, participated in the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration, and contributed essays to national periodicals such as Country Gentleman and Scribner's. Correspondents include Zillah Peel Dunlap, Carolyn Thomas Foreman, and Grant Foreman. Finding aid online.
97. Petentes Women's Club Records, 1928-1973; 30 items and 4 volumes. Minutes, yearbooks, scrapbook, and other records of the Petentes Women's Club of Little Rock (Pulaski County). Organized January 24, 1912, to study literature, history, and current events, the club held its last meeting on May 24, 1973. Finding aid online.
Club Records, 1888-1892; 2 volumes. Minutes, membership
lists, financial records, and constitution for the Philomathic
Club, the name of which was later changed to Pacaha Club.
This club was informally organized in January of 1888 in Helena
(Phillips County), by Maude Sanders and Margaret Redford.
The club name was changed in the fall of 1892 to Pacaha Club,
to honor the name of an Indian village which formerly occupied
the site of Helena.
99. Pine Bluff League of Women Voters Records, 1952-1983; 1 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, minutes, annual reports, financial records, membership lists, and research files pertaining to the Pine Bluff League of Women Voters. Founded in 1952 by women from Pine Bluff and Jefferson County, this group has been inactive since 1983. See also Lynn Hornsby Collection. Finding aid online.
100. Poetry Day Broadside, 1948; 1 item. Printed broadside announcing Arkansas' First Poetry Day, to be held October 15, 1948, sponsored by the Arkansas Branch of the National League of American Pen Women. Includes a halftone portrait of writer and poet Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni. Finding aid online.
101. Political Equality League Records, 1914; 2 items. Handwritten list of members, partial minutes, and resolutions of the organizational meeting for the Political Equality League held May 2, 1914, in Fayetteville (Washington County). Also, a mimeographed yearbook for 1914-1915, listing officers and the programs planned for the year with speakers and topics, which included Practical Arguments for Equal Suffrage, by Isabell McCartney, and Progress of the Equal Suffrage Movement in Arkansas, by Martha H. White.
102. Delia Wagner Price Family papers, 1928-1952; 60 items. A collection of correspondence, biographical sketches, clippings, and other genealogical materials, mostly photocopies, pertaining to members of the Bean, Quesenbury, Russell, and Wagner families and to other early settlers in and around Mulberry (Crawford County). Includes a typescript of a diary kept by Adaline Parks Quesenbury (1827-1894) of Cane Hill (Washington County). The diary covers the period from January 1 to May 23, 1853, with the family living in Fayetteville (Washington County). This diary was edited and published with explanatory material by Pat Donat in Flashback 28 (November 1978): 37-46. Subsequent issues of Flashback contain portions of her husband William's diaries.
103. Florence Beatrice Smith Price Papers, 1906, 1927-1968, 1974-1975; 164 items. Correspondence, published and unpublished musical scores, photographs, and other records created or received by composer Florence Beatrice Smith Price (1888-1953), originally of Little Rock (Pulaski County). Price's works have received numerous honors, including 1925 and 1927 Holstein Prizes, a 1928 Schirmer Prize, and the 1932 Wanamaker Award. Her Symphony in E Minor, performed by the Chicago Symphony at the Century of Progress Exposition in 1933, was the first symphony by a black woman composer to be performed by a major American orchestra. Finding aid online.
104. Ida Pace Purdue Scrapbooks, 1884-1958; 2 volumes. Clippings, programs, and other material pertaining to the social, literary, and other interests of Ida Pace, who became Mrs. Albert H. Purdue in 1898. She was a graduate, in 1888, and associate professor of English, 1895-1898, of the Arkansas Industrial University. She was involved with the founding of Chi Omega Fraternity, a national women's social organization established in 1895 in Fayetteville (Washington County). Serving as the first president and then as first editor of the group's official publication, Eleusis, Pace served as national president again from 1906 to 1912. The collection also includes an autograph book with inscriptions written primarily by students at Arkansas Industrial University, 1884-1886, while she was a student.
105. Lida W. Pyles Papers, 1948-1986; 47 items. Papers and photographs pertaining to the career of Lydia Lida Wilson Pyles (born 1906) who published folk tales and local color articles and books. Her stories were published in newspapers in Mountain View (Stone County) and Eureka Springs (Carroll County); Springfield, Joplin, and Carthage, Missouri; and Tulsa, Oklahoma. Her books include Stranger at the Gates (n.p., 1976) and Sense and Nonsense in Verse ([Pineville, Mo.: The Pineville Democrat], 1950). She was active in Ozark Creative Writers, Inc., and in the Ozark Writers and Artists Guild. The photographs include Mrs. Pyles, Cora Pinkley Call, and May Kennedy McCord. Finding aid online.
106. Lorraine Blore Ragland Collection, 1863-1981; 2 1/2 linear feet. Journals, letters, literary manuscripts, clippings, photographs, and other documents pertaining to the Cowgill, Smithee, Blore, and Ragland families of Little Rock (Pulaski County); Denver, Colorado; and Pasadena, California. Includes a three-generation series of journals kept by Annie Eliza Cowgill Smithee from 1863 to 1865, with a few later entries; by her daughter, Ray Smithee Blore from January to July, 1901; and by her granddaughter, Lorraine Blore Ragland from 1917 to 1918 and 1924 to 1928. Smithee's diaries and letters contain information about life in Little Rock during the Civil War; about her friend David O. Dodd, who was executed for espionage in January, 1864; and about her husband, newspaperman James Newton Smithee. Other correspondents include Lettice M. Blore, Mary Cook, Eliza R. Davis, Mary M. Knighton, Mrs. Ann McWilliams, Miss Annie L. McWilliams, and Edith Smithee.
107. Lessie Stringfellow Read Collection, 1913-1924, 1940-1945; 809 items. Correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, reports, speeches, and other records created or received by newspaper editor Lessie Stringfellow Read (1886-1971) in conjunction with her activities in the Arkansas Federation of Women's Clubs and the publicity committee of the General Federation of Women's Clubs. Materials also relate to the Women's News Service, Inc.; the Authors and Composers Society of Arkansas; the League of American Pen Women; and the National American Woman Suffrage Association. One file contains Ethel Estes Sure's 1940-1941 correspondence related to the International Association of Altrusa Clubs.
108. Reynolds and Thomas Research Collection,
1908-1910; 160 items. Biographical sketches of University
of Arkansas presidents, trustees, and faculty requested by
John Hugh Reynolds and David Yancey Thomas in preparation
of their book History of the University of Arkansas (University of Arkansas, 1910). Items included pertain to
Mary Gorton, a faculty member from 1872-1877; Sara Eugenia
Harris, 1877-1885; Jobelle Holcombe, 1901-1903 and 1907-1942;
and Ida Pace Purdue, 1895-1898. Finding
109. Eleanor de la Vergne Risley Papers, 1895-1945; 1 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, and photographs pertaining to writer Eleanor de la Vergne Risley (1876-1945) of Eureka Springs (Carroll County) and Ink (Polk County). Risley published stories about mountain people and pioneer life in Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee, Missouri, and Arkansas. Her books include Real Fairhope Folks (Fairhope, Ala.: Courier Press, 1928), The Road to Wildcat (Little, Brown, and Co., 1930), and An Abandoned Orchard (Little, Brown, and Co., 1932). She also published numerous stories in the Atlantic Monthly, most during the years 1928-1931 and 1939. The collection includes a manuscript for a novel, The Jackson Family, and full drafts or fragments of several short stories, poems, and plays. Finding aid online. See also the Louis and Elsie Freund Papers.
110. Roots Family Papers, 1842-1907, 3 linear feet. Copies of correspondence, diaries, photographs, and other papers created or collected by Logan Holt Roots, Philander Keep Roots, and members of their families in Arkansas, Illinois, and Nevada. Correspondents include Emily Blakeslee (Mrs. Logan Holt) Roots, Frances Maria Fannie Blakeslee Roots, and Martha E. Roots. Mrs. Emily Roots was active in numerous patriotic and social clubs in Little Rock (Pulaski County), including Colonial Dames, Daughters of the American Revolution, Aesthetic Club, and the Woman's Auxiliary and Ladies' Aid of the Episcopal Church.
111. Lee A. Seamster Papers, 1880-1981; 2 linear feet. Correspondence, documents, and photographs pertaining to Judge Lee A. Seamster and Fannie Presley Seamster of Bentonville (Benton County). Contains two files of materials Mrs. Seamster collected for genealogical research and membership in the United Daughters of the Confederacy. Finding aid online.
112. Emma Eugene Ramsaur Shuford Papers, 1850, 1859-1863, 1873, 1893, 1899-1900; 21 items. Correspondence, school autograph book, and other papers created or collected by Emma Eugene Ramsaur Shuford (1846-1905). Of particular interest are letters she wrote to her father, John Franklin Ramsaur, in Hamburg (Ashley County), while she attended school in North and South Carolina during the Civil War. She graduated from Converse College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, circa 1864.
113. Siloam Springs Woman's Fortnightly Club Records, 1907-1932; 9 volumes. Minutes, attendance, and financial records of the Woman's Fortnightly Club of Siloam Springs (Benton County), organized in 1901 as a study club, this organization has also been active in community improvement projects, including "Brighten the Night", which resulted in placing street lights at a dangerous highway intersection.
114. Alfred E. Smith Papers, 1920-1984; 6 linear feet. Correspondence, reports, clippings, photographs, and other materials pertaining to the professional and personal interests of Alfred Edgar Smith (1903-1986), born in Hot Springs (Garland County). Journalist, press advisor, and civil rights activist, Smith founded the Capitol Press Club in 1940 for black journalists. Unlike the National Press Club, which excluded women until 1971, the Capitol Press Club welcomed women journalists. Correspondents include Lula L. Jackson Smith, his wife; psychologist Mamie Clark, his niece; Mary McLeod Bethune, and Hattie Caraway. Finding aid online.
115. Lucille Isabelle Smith Papers, 1905-1912; 25 items. Poems, programs, grade report, leaflet, and other memorabilia pertaining to Lucille Isabelle Smith's activities as preparatory student, 1905-1907, and as university student, 1908-1912, at the University of Arkansas.
116. Sara Jane Smith Papers, 1864-1865; 4 items. Photocopies of proceedings of a military trial and other papers pertaining to charges against Sara Jane Smith of Washington County. She was accused and convicted of destroying telegraph wires to sabotage Union actions during the Civil War. She was sentenced to be hanged by the neck till dead on November 25, 1864, in St. Louis, Missouri. Her execution was delayed due to illness and she was released after the war. Finding aid online.
117. Southland College Records, 1872-1925; 11 linear feet. Correspondence, student records, minutes, and photographs pertaining to Southland College, located at Helena (Phillips County). Originally established as an orphanage and school in 1864, Southland added a normal course in 1869 to train black teachers. Primary support was supplied by the Missionary Board of the Indiana Yearly Meeting of Friends. The first superintendent and the first matron of the school were Calvin and Alida Clark. Other matrons included Irena Beard, Anna B. Wolford, and Cecelia Jenkins. Numerous women served on the teaching faculty at Southland and the school attracted a high percentage of women students. Finding aid online.
118. Glaphyra Stafford Scrapbook, 1917-1926; 1 volume. Correspondence, clippings, programs, photographs, and other memorabilia created or collected by Glaphyra Bucket Wilkerson Stafford, a 1922 graduate of the University of Arkansas. Items pertain to her university activities, especially as a member of Delta Delta Delta, and to her marriage to Edward Raven Marty Stafford. She has written feature articles for the family-owned newspaper, the Springdale News. Finding aid online.
119. William Grant Still & Verna Arvey Papers, ca. 1920-1987; 90 linear feet. Correspondence, diaries, scores, scrapbooks, photographs, audio tapes, and memorabilia pertaining to the life and career of America's first major black composer of serious orchestral and operatic work. Raised in Little Rock (Pulaski County), Still (1895-1978) spent most of his adult life in California where he met Verna Arvey (1910-1987), a native of Los Angeles; they were married in 1939. Verna Arvey Still, a concert pianist and distinguished accompanist, was collaborator and librettist for her husband. Her career as a journalist included contributions for many newspapers and journals, including Musical America, Musical Courier, and Etude. She is also the author of Choreographic Music (E. P. Dutton, 1941) and In One Lifetime (University of Arkansas Press, 1984), the latter of which is her story of William Grant Still. She is listed in the first edition of Who's Who of American Women (1941), and the third edition of The World Who's Who of Women (1976). Correspondents include Mabel Bean, Dolores Calvin, Rudolph Dunbar, W. C. Handy, Mary D. Hudgins, Langston Hughes, Teru Izumida, Eva Jessye, Sally Kamin, Clara B. Kennan, Alain Locke, Mary Spalding Portanova, Marie Powers, Muriel Rahn, Willard Robison, Josephine Schuyler, Irving Schwerk, Geneva Southall, Kay Swift, Deems Taylor, Carl Van Vechten, Edgar Varse, Elisabeth Waldo, Clarence Cameron White, Pura Belpr White, Walter White, and Paul Whiteman. Finding aid online.
120. Frank Arthur Swinnerton Papers, 1899-1964; 22 linear feet. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, clippings, scrapbooks and other materials pertaining to the life, literary career, and works of English novelist and critic, Frank Arthur Swinnerton. Includes significant correspondence between Swinnerton and Irish novelist, Norah Hoult (421 letters); English mystery writer, Marie Belloc Lowndes (96 letters); English novelist, Margaret Storm Jameson (26 letters); and others. An extensive correspondents index lists numerous other women with whom he exchanged information about literature, publishers, mutual friends, and family matters. Most of the latter pertains to the period after his marriage in 1924 to his second wife, Mary Dorothy Bennett. Finding aid online.
121. Thomas E. Tappan, Jr. Collection, 1811-1930; 218 items and 12 volumes. Scrapbooks, photographs, and other material pertaining to steamboats on the Mississippi River, particularly in the Helena (Phillips County) and Memphis areas. Includes clippings about Captain Mollie Johnston (born ca. 1871) of Helena, a licensed river pilot, and photographs and clippings about Sue Bradford of Harrisburg (Poinsett County), who paints river boats. Finding aid online.
122. Adolphine Fletcher Terry Memoirs, 1973-1974; 1 item. Photocopy of a manuscript of the autobiography of Adolphine Fletcher (Mrs. David D.) Terry (1882-1976) of Little Rock (Pulaski County). The memoirs are entitled Life is My Song, Also as told to Carolyn J. Rose. Terry was active in numerous organizations including the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching and the Women's Emergency Committee to Open Our Schools, Little Rock. She was the author of Courage (E. P. Dutton and Co., 1938), Cordelia, Member of the Household (Fort Smith, Ark.: South and West, 1967), and Charlotte Stephens: Little Rock's First Black Teacher (Academic Press of Arkansas, 1973). Finding aid online.
123. David Yancey Thomas Papers, 1872, 1890-1895, 1905-1943; 1 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, speeches, manuscripts, clippings, and other material created or collected by David Yancey Thomas, University of Arkansas professor of history and political science, 1908-1941. Includes correspondence from 1923 to 1925 between Thomas and members of the United Daughters of the Confederacy regarding his publication Arkansas in War and Reconstruction, 1861-1874 (Arkansas Division, United Daughters of the Confederacy, 1926). Also includes an undated paper about, and photograph of, aviatrix Katherine Stinson from San Antonio, Texas.
124. Ruth Harris Thomas Papers, 1948-1975; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, research notes, photographs, and card file pertaining to the research of Ruth Harris Thomas (1900-1973) of Morrilton (Conway County). An ornithologist who wrote "The Country Diarist", a nature and bird watchers column for the Arkansas Gazette from 1933 to 1973, she also authored two books, Crip, Come Home (Harper, 1952) and Brush Goat, Milk Goat (Sterling, 1957). The collection includes bird banding returns and research files on bluejays and purple finches. Finding aid online.
125. Marnelle Thomsen Papers, 1922-1973; 28 items. Scrapbook created by Marnelle Thomsen while she was a student at the University of Arkansas from 1949 to 1952. Materials pertain to her activities as a student, especially as a member of Delta Gamma sorority, and to the career of her father, Fred C. Thomsen, Razorback football coach from 1928 to 1942.
126. Virginia Tidball Papers, 1942-1944, 1959; 315 items. Correspondence, student essays, administrative memoranda, clippings, and other materials created or received by Virginia Tidball during and subsequent to her teaching assignment at the Jerome Relocation Center School (Drew County). Most of the 179 essays by Japanese- American students are autobiographical, describing their lives before evacuation as well as experiences in the relocation program.
127. James W. Trimble Family Papers, 1854-1984; 10 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, papers, and photographs pertaining to the James W. Trimble family of Berryville (Carroll County). His wife, Ruth Maples Trimble, was a member and officer of the Seventy-ninth Congress Club, for which the collection includes minutes for the period 1946 to 1969. Several women related to the Trimbles were active in the Twentieth Century Club of Berryville, for which the collection includes minutes from its organizational meeting on November 20, 1914, through March 26, 1920, and program yearbooks for 1950-1951 and 1960-1961. Also includes correspondence of Mrs. Trimble's sisters (Ree Maples Howe, Jo Maples Martin, and Katherine Maples Price) and genealogical materials pertaining to the Trimble, Maples, McQuown, Peeke, Atchley, Boyd, Hand, Sapp, Tate, and Price families. Finding aid online.
128. Virginia Tyler Papers, 1946-1987; 2 1/2 linear feet. Correspondence, scrapbooks, and photographs pertaining to Virginia Tyler of Eureka Springs (Carroll County). Writer, artist, antique shop owner, and civic promoter, Tyler has written a variety of weekly columns during the past twenty years for the Eureka Springs Times Echo. Scrapbooks contain clippings of three of her weekly columns, "The Alpine Hiking Club," 1967-1987; "Around Town," 1967-1987; and "Ukulele Club," 1970-1984, which became "1890 Sing-along," 1984-1986. Photographs pertain to people and topics included in her columns.
129. University Dames
Scrapbook, 1945-1951; 1 volume. Clippings, programs, photographs,
and other material pertaining to activities of the University
of Arkansas chapter of University Dames, a club for wives
of students and married women students, organized November
130. University Infirmary Association Records, 1895-1908; 1 volume. Minutes of the University Infirmary Association, from its organization November 18, 1895, to March 13, 1908. The goal of this women's group was to assist in rendering more comfortable the students who may fall sick in the dormitory at the University of Arkansas.
131. Upchurch Family Papers, 1879-1984; 5 linear feet and 1 volume. Correspondence, family papers, photographs, and other papers pertaining to the Upchurch family of Fort Smith and Hackett (Sebastian County). Fredrica Upchurch taught in elementary schools in Stuttgart (Arkansas County), Hackett, Fort Smith, and Belle Point (Sebastian County) during the years 1920 to 1968. Grace Upchurch worked in the University of Arkansas Libraries, first as a student assistant in 1927 and later as a librarian. She retired in 1970 from her position as head of the Circulation Department. Finding aid online.
132. Mary Elizabeth Birnie Coster Vann Papers, 1853-1869, 1874; 3 items. Two receipts and a notebook, 1853-1869, recording recipes, verses, finances, genealogical notes, and miscellaneous memoranda recorded by Mary Elizabeth Birnie Coster Vann of Fort Smith (Sebastian County). Other, unidentified persons also may have made entries in the notebook.
133. Constance Wagner Audio Recordings, 1977; 5 items. Three audio cassette recordings of an interview, one audio cassette recording of a presentation to a University of Arkansas seminar, a file of interview notes, and a bibliography pertaining to Eureka Springs (Carroll County) novelist, Constance Wagner. The interview was conducted by Ellen Compton Shipley in November 1977. Wagner's books include Sycamore (Knopf, 1950). Finding aid online.
134. Walker Family Papers, 1833-1962; 63 items. Correspondence, genealogical materials, photographs, and other papers pertaining to the family of Judge David Walker and Jane Washington Walker of Fayetteville (Washington County). Includes four letters written between 1833 and 1835 by Lucy Elizabeth Washington and Rebecca Washington of Green Ridge, Kentucky, to the Walkers. Also includes a photograph and description of a white quilt finished in 1812 by Rebecca Washington, whose father-in-law, Warner Washington, was George Washington's first cousin. Sue H. Walker, Rebecca Washington's great-granddaughter, donated the quilt to the Mt. Vernon Association in 1913. Finding aid online.
135. Sue H. Walker Collection, 1818-1936; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, documents, pamphlets, and miscellaneous papers collected by Susan Howard Walker (1857-1939), of Washington County, and her grandfather, Judge David Walker. Includes clippings of newspaper articles from the Fayetteville Daily Leader written by Sue Walker about Arkansas pioneers. Finding aid online.
136. Washington County Extension Homemakers Council Records, 1916-1987; 1 1/2 linear feet and 23 volumes. Annual reports, minutes, yearbooks, scrapbooks, photographs, and other records pertaining to activities of the Washington County Extension Homemakers Council, formally organized in December 1926. Home demonstration work began in Washington County in March of 1916 with Harriet B. King as the first home demonstration agent. Scrapbooks describe activities of local clubs in the county. Records also pertain to the 1968-1969 project in which members prepared histories and lists of tombstone inscriptions for cemeteries in the county. Finding aid online.
137.Washington County League of Women Voters Records, 1920-1921, 1941-1947, 1952-1983; 4 1/2 linear feet and 12 volumes. Minutes, correspondence, annual reports, treasurers' reports, research files, and scrapbooks pertaining to activities of the Washington County League of Women Voters, organized in 1901 in Fayetteville. Finding aid online.
138. Elizabeth Bassett Williams Papers, 1882-1982; 56 items. Broadsides, photographs, clippings, pamphlets, letters, and other material collected by Elizabeth Bassett Williams, a 1941 graduate of the University of Arkansas. The most notable group of items in the collection consists of nineteen photographs by J. H. Field, including portraits of Dorothy Lighton and of Mrs. Williams's grandmother, Ida Corbett Knerr. Finding aid online.
139. Arabella Lanktree Wilson Papers, 1823-1876; 1 linear foot. Correspondence, journals, notebooks, and miscellaneous materials pertaining to the Lanktree and Wilson families. Arabella Lanktree Wilson (1814-1866) lived in Dardanelle (Yell County), where she and her daughter Anna taught in the Dardanelle Academy for Young Ladies, and, later, in Pine Bluff (Jefferson County). Correspondents include Arabella Wilson, Anna L. Wilson, Catherine Lanktree, Mary T. Lanktree, Arabella Lanktree Gaaffe, and Eliza Wilson Quitton Radford.
140. Thyra Samter Winslow Papers, 1900-1970; 76 items. Correspondence and photocopies of stories and articles pertaining to writer Thyra Samter Winslow (ca. 1885-1961) of Fort Smith (Sebastian County). Materials were collected by Richard Clarence Winegard in preparation of his doctoral dissertation, "Thyra Samter Winslow: A Critical Assessment" (University of Arkansas, 1971). Her books of short stories include Picture Frames (Knopf, 1923), Show Business (Knopf, 1926), and People Around the Corner (Knopf, 1927).
141. Woman's Book Club of Harrison Records, 1900-1987; 1 1/2 linear feet and 16 volumes. Minutes, yearbooks, scrapbooks, correspondence, photographs, and other records pertaining to the Woman's Book Club of Harrison (Boone County), organized in 1900. The club's primary goal was to establish and operate a city public library. Materials also document fundraising efforts, the bookmobile program, local essay contests, and other community projects. Finding aid online.
142. Young Women's Christian Association Scrapbook, 1916-1923; 1 volume. Includes memory books for the Young Women's Christian Association at the University of Arkansas for the years 1916-1917 and 1917-1918. Also includes clippings, notices, programs, photographs and other memorabilia pertaining to the group's activities.