About Special Collections

Overview and History

The Special Collections Department was created in 1967 to encourage research and writing in the history and culture of Arkansas and the surrounding region. The mission of the department is to acquire, preserve, and provide access to historical manuscripts, archives, maps, photographs, and published materials to support scholarly investigation of the state, its customs and people, and its cultural, physical, and political climate. Special Collections include manuscripts and archives, the Arkansas Collection, rare books and special libraries, photographs, broadsides, and maps. Read more about the collections.

The facilities of Special Collections are open to the public. University of Arkansas faculty and students as well as scholars, journalists, genealogists, community members, and other researchers from throughout the United States and across the world have conducted research in the collections. The results of their work have appeared in theses and dissertations, newspaper articles, scholarly and popular journals and books, exhibits, family and organizational histories, and television and film productions. Read more about doing research in Special Collections.

Location and Directions

Special Collections is located on the basement floor (Level 1) of Mullins Library. View a campus map.

Driving directions to the campus as well as parking information for visitors can be found on our visitors page. The closest public parking are metered spots near the Administration Building or in the Stadium Drive (Arkansas Union) Parking Garage (view a parking map for campus).

Special Collections Staff

Lori Birrell
Head, Special Collections Department
lbirrell@uark.edu 575-8443
MULN 130A
Amy Allen
University Archivist
ala005@uark.edu 575-6370
MULN 130J
Michael Fondren
G. David Gearhart Papers Project Archivist
mfondren@uark.edu 575-4626
MULN 125
Misha Gardner
Reading Room Assistant
misha@uark.edu 575-8444
MULN 130
Melanie Griffin
Assistant Head, Special Collections
melanieg@uark.edu 575-5576
MULN 130L
Adam Heien
Processing Archivist
aheien@uark.edu 575-5434
MULN 123
Todd Lewis
Lead Processing Archivist
telewis@uark.edu 575-4659
MULN 123
Deena Owens
Administrative Assistant to the Special Collections Department
drowens@uark.edu 575-5577
MULN 130N
Heath Robinson
University Archives Assistant
hjr001@uark.edu 575-8447
MULN 123
Geoffery Stark
Research Services Coordinator
glstark@uark.edu 575-8444
MULN 130
Catherine Wallack
Architectural Records Archivist
cwallack@uark.edu 575-7253
MULN 126
Katrina Windon
Collections Management and Processing Unit Head
windon@uark.edu 575-3867
MULN 125
Joshua Youngblood
Rare Books Librarian and Instruction and Outreach Unit Head
jcyoungb@uark.edu 575-7251
MULN 130H

Special Projects Staff, 2018-2019

  • Elysa Barton (Manuscripts Processor)
  • Ashley Cain (Manuscripts Processor)
  • Rebecca Davidson (Reading Room Assistant)
  • Christopher Galindo (Manuscripts Processor)
  • Sarah Green (Manuscripts Processor)
  • Joey Jekel (Reading Room Assistant)
  • Kristine Massengale (Reading Room Assistant)
  • Angel Sigears (Manuscripts Processor)

Volunteers provide a valuable service, allowing regular staff members to dedicate their time to other projects. Special Collections Volunteer Policy

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Text/SMS: 479-385-0803
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656