Other Manuscript Collections Relating to Ozark Mountain Folklife

Cloggers at Ozark Folk Festival

Cloggers at the Ozark Folk Festival, Eureka Springs, Arkansas, ca 1950s. (Otto Ernest Rayburn Collection, Ozark Folk Encyclopedia, MS R19)

Mary Susan High Casey Brisco. "The Story of My Life"
(MS B774). (1 item) Manuscript text (138 p.) and typed transcript (70 p.) of autobiographical sketch, dated Mar.3, 1954, by Berryville, folk singer whose sound recordings are a part of the University Folklore Collection. Collection also includes a 8" by 10" glossy print portrait of Mrs. Brisco.
Booth Campbell Scrapbook: Verses and Articles
1954 (MC 1392).(1 folder) Collection contains writing and verse by Booth Campbell, folk singer and native of Cane Hill, Arkansas, and articles collected about him.
Emma Dusenbury
One of the foremost singers of Anglo-American folk songs, Emma Dusenbury is represented in the University Libraries by copies of recordings made in the 1930s by collectors who visited her on her farm near Mena. User copies of these recordings are held in the Performing Art and Media Department.
Blanche Hanks Elliott Papers: Papers
1911-1990 (MC 1272). (6 linear ft.) Papers document Blanche Hanks Elliott's association with M.E. Oliver, Edsel Ford, Ernie Deane, Clay M. Anderson, David Pryor, Orval Faubus, and a number of War Eagle Fair artisans (1950s-1980s) and persons in cooperative extension work in Arkansas (1920s-1930s). Organizations represented include: Benton County Rug Weavers, Northwest Arkansas Headwaters, Washington County Farm Women's Market, Ozark Council of Arts and Crafts Fair Association. Her collections of clipping sand printed material include: Benton and Washington County history, Northwest Arkansas agriculture and rural life, descriptions of crafts and artisans, particularly involving weaving, sculpture,basket making, doll making, quilting, and wood carving. Materials about the organization of and activities of the War Eagle Fair, the Back-in-the-Hills Antique Show and Collectors Fair,and the Ozarks Arts and Crafts Seminars are included.
Thomas Gibbs Ballads and Story: Folk Ballads and Stories
1914 (MC 443). (1 item) "When I Started A Courting," "The Old Fox," "Missouri Girls," "Southern Soldiers," and two untitled songs (words only) handwritten by Thomas Gibbs, Whiterock Church, Farmington, Arkansas. Also the story of 1836 frontier life as told by Gibbs's great-grandmother.
Susannah Handy. "Folklore for Children"
[n. d.] (MS H19). (18 p.) Riddles, rhymes, proverbial sayings, with original hand-drawn illustrations. Additional class report for Arkansas Folklore, Mary Celestia Parler, instructor.
Mary D. Hudgins Arkansas Music Collection: Manuscript and Printed Arkansiana
1800-1986 (MC 534). (55 linear ft.) Biographical material, writing and research material, topical manuscript collections, pictures, and maps. Mary Hudgins was an active member of the Arkansas Folklore Society and avid collector of Arkansiana. Hudgins also collaborated with Vance Randolph.
Lida W. Pyles Papers: Papers and Photographs
1948-1986 (MC 722). Collection contains papers concerning the Ozark Writers and Artists Guild, materials about the Ozark Creative Writers, Inc., and a collection of photographs of Pyles and Cora Pinkley Call of Eureka Springs, Arkansas, and the Ozark Writers and Artists Guild, and the Ozark Creative Writers,Inc. Included is a photocopy of Sense and Nonsense in Verse and her newspaper articles.
Vernacular Architecture of Arkansas: Photographs by Geoff Winningham: Photographs
1980-1981 (MC 1188). This photographic essay consists of black and white photographs of residences, churches, stores,cabins, garages, barns, businesses, outhouses, and bridges. Also included is the portfolio Of the Soil, Six Classics of Arkansas' Vernacular Architecture, photographs by Geoff Winningham.
Wright, C. D. The Lost Roads Project: A Walk-in Book of Arkansas
[1994](1891-1960). (1 portfolio ([21] broadsides) Poetry and Prose,issued in the form of broadsides.
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Text/SMS: 479-385-0803
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656