decorative graphic

The Fulbright Program, 1946-1996:
An Online Exhibit


Introduction / Sources / History / Binational Programs / Board of Foreign Scholarships / Cooperating Agencies / Anniversaries / Grantees

"My experience as a Rhodes scholar was the dominant influence in the creation of the Fulbright awards. . . . That experience, together with the devastation of the second World War and the existence of large uncollectible foreign credits, resulted in the bill creating the scholarships. . . . The recipients of these awards may be considered as grandchildren of Cecil Rhodes, scattered throughout the world."

Senator Fulbright, May 6, 1955,
in a letter to Dr. Frank Aydelotte, long-time secretary
of the Association of American Rhodes Scholars.


First Oxford Fulbright scholars meet with the Rhodes Trust at Rhodes House, November 26, 1949. Front row (left to right): Mrs. W. A. Binkley; Prof. K. C. Wheare; Mrs. Jensen; Dr. John Lowe, vice-chancellor of Oxford University; Rt. Hon. L. S. Amery; and Mrs. C. K. Allen. Second row (left to right): Prof. W. A. Binkley; Sir Edward Peacock; Mrs. R. S. Miller, Lord Elton; and Prof. M. Jensen. Third row (left to right): Mrs. E. B. Wilson; Prof. E. B. Wilson; R. S. Miller; and A. Pifer.

Photograph courtesy of Oxford Mail, November 28, 1949.



Back to the last part of the exhibit, Anniversary Celebrations.
Return to the start of the exhibit.
Return to the Special Collections Home Page.
Return to the University Libraries Home Page.